Home > Christianity, Faith > Making Change For Change’s Sake?

Making Change For Change’s Sake?

Recently there has been a bit of a flap with my college team of choice.  It seems that there have been some changes with the game day program that has upset the leadership of the marching band.  The Athletic Department has introduced some more modern, canned music to some of the pregame festivities.

I don’t want to go into all of the reasons that this has happened.  The one thing that needs to be realized is that change is not being made simply for change’s sake.  The university is examining everything that goes into the game day experience.  They want to appeal to as many fans and others who attend the games as possible.  They want to keep what works and make changes where necessary.

Those who want little change are resistant to this.  It would be easy to take shots at those folks.  In fact, I am a bit frustrated with them.  The truth is, though, that most of us are that way in some area of our lives.

I love some traditions in my life.  For example, I love many traditions surrounding the time that runs from Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I am resistant to change when it comes to that time of year.

We do this in the Church as well.  We create our traditions and soon they become “church” for us.  We almost begin to worship the experience rather than the One we should experience during our worship.

We should look at everything that goes into our worship experiences.  We should examine them and make sure that we are doing them for the right reason, not just for tradition’s sake.

We should not make change for change’s sake.  We should only change those things that will help us worship our Lord in a better way.

Are you resistant to change?  Do you make change for change’s sake?  What prompts you to make changes in your life or church’s life?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. October 15, 2013 at 4:58 am

    I hate change! But I’ve also learned that leaps of faith which lead to change are so worth it.

    • October 16, 2013 at 5:39 am

      Jon, I could have guessed that based on the engineer in you. I’m a bit opposite. Change excites me.

  2. October 15, 2013 at 5:25 am

    I like change but not just for change sake (as you have talked about). If something needs changed and it is/will be a good thing I’m all for it. It if makes sense and streamlines things then by all means.

    • October 16, 2013 at 5:41 am

      I definitely like needed changes. Even though I like change, if it doesn’t make sense then I’m not crazy about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

