Home > Christianity, Faith > The Art Of Being A Grandparent

The Art Of Being A Grandparent

I’ve been a parent for just over nineteen years now.  That’s crazy and wild for me to wrap my mind around.  I am amazed that God has blessed me with this in my life.

There’s just one problem.

My daughter has a boyfriend.  They’ve been dating well over three years now and I’m beginning to think it may soon become serious. I think they actually like each other.  The boyfriend keeps coming around despite my best efforts to drive him away.  Of course, as any good father does, I attempted this on their first date, but evidently I’m not good enough at driving boys away.

I suppose that they will get married eventually.  I’ll walk her down some sort of aisle and give her to another guy.  The first person whose umbilical cord I cut will be given in marriage to another man.  I’m sure that I’ll cry and weep that day.

There is one benefit that I see coming out of this deal.

Grandchildren.

I’m looking forward to that.  I’m looking forward to being a grandparent.  It’s a unique job.

You get to do a lot of parenting things without the pressure that comes with being a parent.  Maybe that’s because you’ve already been through it  before.  You know what is a big deal and what isn’t.  You can teach in ways that they don’t realize you’re teaching them.  You can love them in ways that are different from parents do.

Most of all I’m looking forward to passing my faith down to my grand-kids.  Not that they can inherit it from me.  Just that I want to live in such a way that honors the Lord before them that they want it as well.  I want them to know Him like I do.

Being a grandparent is an art, one that I’m looking forward to.

  1. October 29, 2013 at 5:19 am

    Ain’t nothing like being a grandfather. As it has been said, “If I had known grandchildren were this much fun we would have had them first.”

    • October 29, 2013 at 5:24 am

      Bill, I’m looking forward to it…..in a few years.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    October 29, 2013 at 6:39 am

    I have a little girl due soon, and thoughts of walking her down an aisle are prohibited.

    • October 31, 2013 at 5:31 am

      Ricky, enjoy every moment. Get a shotgun and have it ready for the future.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

