Home > Christianity, Faith > God’s Call, Your Dream

God’s Call, Your Dream

I have a thought.  I’m not sure it’s correct or true.

In 1999, I announced a call to the ministry.  It was a decision I struggled with.  There was plenty of anxiety over whether or not God had called me or not.  It wasn’t something I took lightly.  I knew that it would change my life.

The problem is that we don’t do that for anything else in life.

We don’t encourage our children to discover what they’ve been called to do by the Lord if it’s not ministry.

We tell them to find out what they want to do for the rest of their lives.

We tell them to find something that will make them a good income.

We might tell them to find something that they would enjoy the rest of their lives.

We tell them to follow their dreams.

Why do all of these things have to be mutually exclusive?

Why can’t following God’s call be the equivalent of following dream?

In fact, that’s what I think life should be.

That doesn’t mean that every job we ever have will be God’s call in our lives.  It might facilitate it for a while.

But imagine for a minute if those two things intersect.  What would our lives be like?

Many, if not most, of my preacher friends would say that God’s call and their dream are one in the same.  They would if I really pressed them on it.

How about you?  Is your dream God’s call for your life?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. November 1, 2013 at 1:07 am

    Interesting post. I’m not sure I have a dream. However, I know that ministry (although rarely paid ministry) is the only thing I do that really matters. The other things I do, I can take or leave. Ministry, though, is different — I’m willing to suffer for it, sacrifice for it; it is the only thing I do that has true significance.

  2. November 1, 2013 at 6:11 am

    My dream? To be the first to comment on a Deucology Post! Dream fulfilled!

    But seriously…good point. The false distinction between a pastor being considered “called” and an accountant being “called” is the idea of secular vs religious. As if, somehow, only those in ministry are REALLY following God and the rest of us are just doing whatever we feel like doing.

    Funny, years ago I heard a pastor describe his decision to become a pastor the way most people would describe choosing a “secular job,” and I found it odd. It was all about aptitude, interest, and the strong encouragement he received from a friend to do it. Sounded strange to me…is God in this?

    Truth is, God needs to be in all our decisions…calls…dreams.

    Now I need to go answer the call to have a project ready by 10am when my client shows up.

  3. November 1, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    These are some really great points. I asked my pastor this same question this week. Is he chasing his calling/dream? His dream is to travel the world preaching the gospel. His calling is preaching. His ministry right now is what is funding and facilitating his dream of traveling the world. They intersect very well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

