Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Taking Steps To Your Dream

Taking Steps To Your Dream

My dream when I was a young man was to be an “army man”.  I suppose that it had something to do with the fact that my dad was in the Army when I was born, not to mention the hundreds of tiny, plastic army figures and my G.I. Joes.  Even as  teenager, I sometimes dreamed of being in the military.  Those ideas were discouraged by most around me.

I think most kids want to be “army men” because all they see is the adventure.  They watch movies where their heroes are victorious.  They don’t account for the danger.  There is something else that they don’t account for.

Taking steps to your dream.  The steps it takes to get to the life of adventure.

I think it’s like that for many other dreams as well.

People dream of playing piano concertos in Carnegie Hall.  What they don’t dream of are the countless sets of scales they play or the endless hours of practice in preparation.

The Bluegrass musician loves the idea of playing the festival circuit and cutting records.  The endless takes in the studio, the bus rides, or nights of practicing to get it just right?  Not as much.

Whatever our dream is, too many of us want to jump straight into the ultimate pinnacle of said dream.  They want to rise to the top immediately.  It just doesn’t happen that way.  There are hundreds, sometimes thousands, of steps on the way to achieving a dream.

It’s that way in our faith as well.  We come to know the Lord and immediately want the wisdom of those that have walked with Him for decades.

We are leaders in business and believe that this qualifies us to be leaders in the Church.

We join a church and think that we should vault past so many others that have been faithful in that local assembly.

It just doesn’t work that way.  It shouldn’t.

There are steps along the way in our faith.  It’s a journey.  There is a Way we should go.  He will lead us and guide us.  He will give us what we need a day at a time.

We just can’t get ahead of ourselves on the way to the dream.

Have you ever tried or wanted to skip steps on the way to your dream?

  1. November 6, 2013 at 2:23 am

    Yes, Larry–frequently. And both the Lord, and the world, have been faithful in thwarting my attempts to “level up.”

    We’ve all got to do the work, put in the time, and achieve mastery. There is no shortcut.

    Great post!

  2. Ricky Anderson
    November 6, 2013 at 7:59 am

    If I knew what my dream was, I’d probably be tempted to get there quickly.

    • November 7, 2013 at 6:14 am

      You’ll figure it out, Ricky. You may even know what it is, just not realize it.

  3. November 6, 2013 at 8:26 am

    I have done it both ways-rush into/toward it and taken the slow route. The latter works better and is more fulfilling. As I rushed I pushed ahead, most often of God, and only fell on my face. In the church, because I like contemporary worship, I have tried to move into it without the proper backing. It failed or was not the place to even try. But allowing God to orchestrate the dream and circumstances for fulfillment is worth the wait.

  4. November 6, 2013 at 8:27 am

    Being a Musician and having a band…yes…you want to skip all the hours of recording and just hear the end product…it’s fun but at the same time…nerve racking…

  5. November 7, 2013 at 9:15 am

    I had a dream of being a race car driver. And then an ambulance driver. And then a heavy equipment opearator. And then at some point, reality set in….
    Now that I’m 50, I’m rethinking that race car dream…

  6. November 8, 2013 at 11:40 am

    The best advice I ever got about singing was to learn all kinds of songs, wedding, funeral, a song for every season and holiday, practice them till you know them to be ready when called upon to sing. Way back when I started this sound tracts were just becoming something non professional used. I was the first singer in our church to use them . Little did I know God would use all those practices and sound tract I bought to sing in hundreds of churches. I love to sing, still do and now I have hundreds of resources to draw from when ask to sing. Believe it or not when are back in the south I get ask to sing about every Sunday at some church. There was a time I tried to push ahead to go out more with the group I sang with. It caused problems in our marriage so I knew that was not from the Lord. I don’t dream any more of making it big…I am almost 67 and just grateful I can still sing a note. I do dream of singing in the heavenly choir, but I can wait for it. Love the last statement in your post. “We just can’t get ahead of ourselves on the way to the dream.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

