Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Find Your Groovy Spot

Find Your Groovy Spot

I’m not really sure now where this idea came from.  I may have read it.  Maybe I heard someone mention it.  Perhaps I even dreamed it up all by myself.  Whatever the case, today I want to talk about it.

Finding your groovy spot.

Say what?  What is a groovy spot?

It’s that place where life intersects with what you’re called to do.  With your dream.  With your gifts.

It’s like hitting the sweet spot when you played baseball as a kid.  Remember that feeling?  How you paused for just a split second because it felt so good.  It was rare when you hit the ball that perfect.  You relished that feeling for that moment.

It’s that feeling when your nail a golf ball in the sweet spot with a driver.  You hold your follow through as you watch the ball climb.  You have a feeling pulse through your body.  It takes your mind with it.  Time almost stands still.

You know the feeling if you’re a runner.  You hit a point where it doesn’t hurt.  It feels so good, so much better than it has ever felt before.  Everything is clicking.  Nothing can stop you.  You could run forever.

It happens in the Church with you as well.  It happens when your gifts, your role, your mission, your dream and your call all come together.  You can almost tangibly feel the Spirit in everything you are doing, thinking and saying.  It is almost indescribable.  In fact, many can’t understand it when you try to explain it.

You’ve found your groovy spot and you don’t want to ever let it go.

Have you ever found your groovy spot?

  1. November 7, 2013 at 7:12 am

    The first thing that came to mind when I saw “groovy” was Tommy James uses it in a song. 🙂 Haven’t heard it for years other than that. Let’s bring it back! As for your question: I feel right now I am in that spot in my ministry, especially preaching.

  2. November 7, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    I think I know what you mean Larry. For me it’s really hard to find my groovy spot when we are in the US. The constant travel and not being in your own home sort of throws everything out of whack. I have to remind myself that sometimes being in your groovy spot is a privilege. Life doesn’t always make staying in that groovy spot easy.

    There are also times when I didn’t think I was in my groovy spot but the Holy Spirit was working big time and that sort of surprised me. I guess when it comes down to it maybe I should worry so much about being in the groovy spot but more about being faithful and when the time is right God will put me where I need to be.

  3. JT Adamson
    November 7, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    Thank you for finally getting to “church.” I do that! All this baseball, golf, runner talk was starting to make me feel disenfranchised.

    However, no thank you for the fact that I now have “Feelin’ Groovy” in my head for the rest of the evening.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

