Home > Blogging, Fiction > What I Learned From Writing A Novel

What I Learned From Writing A Novel

Last Saturday I completed writing a fiction series.  Putting all of the posts together, it turns out that I wrote a novel.  You can visit and read them at my FICTION page.

I didn’t expect that I would do this over a year’s time.  It started out as something that was more for my wife than anything.   However, there are some lessons that I learned from writing this project.

Consistency is key.  Showing up and writing is important.  I wouldn’t have completed this if I hadn’t show up every week when it was time to write.

Some characters are easier to write than others.  I didn’t like every character.  Those that I thought I would like the best were often those that were the hardest to write.  Those that I despised were easier to write.

It’s good to have a plan.  I had a general idea each week of what I would write.  If I had it to do over, I would have sketched out a general idea of the story ahead of time to give me a bit more structure to follow.

But not too much.  Even though I had a general idea of where I was going each week, it often took on a life of its own while I was writing.  Twists and turns took a life of their own.  Sometimes it felt like it was writing itself.

Writing dialogue is the toughest part.  Writing dialogue that isn’t stiff and unnatural is difficult.  I’m not sure I fared so well.

Knowing the characters is important.  If I had to go back and rewrite this, I would have written a short biography of each character.  It would help me know each of them, plus be a valuable resource.

These are just  a few lessons I learned from writing a novel over a year’s time.  There are other things, some of which I’m not sure I even know yet that I learned.  All of these are valuable as I go forward in my writing.

Have you ever written a novel?  What lessons did you learn?

Categories: Blogging, Fiction Tags: , , ,
  1. November 8, 2013 at 4:29 am

    I enjoyed your novel. As I have stated before, I looked forward to each week’s installment on Saturday morning. I’m going to miss it now that it’s over.

  2. November 8, 2013 at 6:46 am

    Haven’t written one but enjoyed reading yours.

  3. Ricky Anderson
    November 8, 2013 at 10:20 am

    You impress me. I find it to be very hard and cumbersome, and I am rarely pleased with the result.

    • November 8, 2013 at 10:58 am

      Are you kidding, Ricky? You’re awesome. I can’t come anywhere near your humor. It’s just not me. And I guess that’s ok.

      • Ricky Anderson
        November 8, 2013 at 11:24 am

        Thanks, Larry. Means a lot.

        I make myself hit post instead of delete every time. Well, almost every time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

