Home > Christianity, Faith > Nothing But The Elevens

Nothing But The Elevens

Back in 1977, I began playing football.  I was in fourth grade and it was the first sport that I played.  My number?  Eleven.

The following spring, I began playing baseball.  I played left field, had a good arm and on my orange shirt was the number eleven.  To say that the number eleven played a significant part of my life would be an understatement.

Lately, the number eleven has begun showing up again.  I’m not sure when I first noticed it, but increasingly my awareness began to be turned up regarding it.  Almost every day, for some time now, I would look up and see 11:11 on my clock or phone.  I’m not awake very often, but if I am up late at night, 11:11 has shown up in the P.M.  It hasn’t been rare to see 1:11 pop, though less often and seemingly less significant.

All of these elevens have made me wonder if I’m the only one.  I asked the question of my Twitter and Facebook friends and it happens to other people to.  I did a  bit of research on this phenomenon.  Supposedly, when 11:11 invades your life you are supposed to make a wish.  I can’t imagine the perceived power of the date from a couple of years ago on 11/11/11.

Other New Agey attributes are ascribed to the time and dates by some.  I just scratched the surface of what these folks think and I didn’t care enough to put much effort into understanding what they were even talking about.  Something about significant events and power being unlocked through our DNA and some other confusing stuff.

Really it comes down that what we all want to know is one question.  What does it all mean?

That is how we are all wired.  So let me tell how it has really worked out in my life.

It has become a game.  I became aware it was happening.  I began looking for 11:11 to show up everyday.  I almost slowed down and paused waiting for it to happen.  I told my wife about it.  She began seeing it.  She would tell me about.  She even took a screen shot on her phone one day and texted it to me.  I could set that as my screen saver and see it all of the time if I wanted.

What I’m getting at is that we are all looking for a sign.  We all want something to happen due to something outside of ourselves.  We want to believe that good will come because of some cosmic plan much bigger than anything we could dream up.  We want to believe that everything is happening for a reason.

And it is.

We have a God who is sitting on his throne.  He wrote a book before the foundation of the world.  He never had a Plan B.  He only had Plan A, which was sending His Son to die on the cross for our salvation, to defeat death and sin once and for all.  He turns the hearts of kings according to His purpose.

He is our God at 11:11 every day.  He is our God on 11/11.

He is our God when there is nothing but the elevens.

Or twelves and thirteens.

So, at 11:11, dream and wish.  Pray and ask for what you wish.  But don’t just do it then.  Do it at the others times as well.

Have you ever had certain numbers show up in your life?  Do you know that God is sitting on His throne at that time, just as at any other time on your clock?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. November 11, 2013 at 5:29 am

    Since my knee has caused my life to slow down some recently, I had a Back to the Future marathon over the weekend. I think 11/11 has something to do with the space time continuum, sort of November 5, 1955. Either that or it is just a strange coincidence. 🙂

    • November 12, 2013 at 2:30 pm

      Bill, this made me laugh….except the part about your knees.

  2. November 11, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    4, 8, 15, 16, 23, 42. I saw a lot of those numbers for about 6 years. Any guess as to why?

    • November 12, 2013 at 7:04 am

      Great question, Rob. I knew a guy who spouted those numbers while playing Connect 4, but that was in another life, brotha.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

