Home > Christianity, Faith > What If You Don’t Like Your Dream?

What If You Don’t Like Your Dream?

You might recall that I wrote a post a few days ago about how God’s call for your life should be your dream.  It makes for a better life when those two things match.  However,, it leaves us open to ask a question.

What if we don’t like the call on our lives or the dream that God has given us?

This happened to Jonah.  God called him to go to Nineveh and preach a message of repentance to them.  God gave him a dream.   Jonah didn’t like that.  He wanted the Ninevites to die.  He knew that God was merciful and gracious.  What did he do?

He ran.

Something similar happened to Paul.  He recounted how the Lord told him he was kicking against the goads.  He knew what the truth was.  He felt called to a relationship with Christ.  He was being given a dream.  What did he do?

He persecuted the Church.  He persecuted Christ.

Are we any different?

We will run.  We will grow angry and bitter against the Church and Jesus.  All we have to do is go with God.  We accept his call, whether it’s to be a preacher or an accountant.  We latch onto the dream He gives us and get busy living the life He wants us to live.

What do you do if you don’t like your dream?

Ask God to help you like it.

Ask Him to help you accept it.

Then do it.

Have you ever not liked the dream or call God has given you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , ,
  1. November 13, 2013 at 5:51 am

    may I sound heretical here? The only time I have not liked God’s dream for me has been from the financial end of things. how selfish is that?

    • November 13, 2013 at 5:58 am

      I don’t think that sounds heretical. From what you have said before, I think you would not think that in a selfish way, but for what it would have meant for your family.

  2. November 13, 2013 at 8:29 am

    I know that God has called me to write songs for corporate worship and lead corporate worship for the Latin community…but it’s really difficult…
    I absolutely love it…it’s my dream…
    but, having a family of 4 and of 5 very soon…I don’t like it my dream sometimes. or what God has called me to do…
    because it will take time away from my family…as well as…financial stability…
    it’s tough…
    but I guess, that’s for Faith comes in…

  3. November 13, 2013 at 10:25 am

    Yes. When I felt God leading me to ministry I said, “NO!” Thankfully He didn’t give up on me.

    • November 15, 2013 at 6:41 am

      There is a weird sort of angst during those times, right Rob?

  4. November 13, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    I never thought I’d teach kindergarten and look where I’ve been for the past 14 years.
    God is hilarious.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

