Home > Christianity, Faith > How Hungry Are You?

How Hungry Are You?

I haven’t been much of a person who fasts during my journey with Christ.  Lately I’ve began to wonder why.

Jesus seems to have assumed that those he taught would fast and pray.  I wish he hadn’t thrown that word “When” in when talking about it, but then again, we wouldn’t have this opportunity to discuss it if He hadn’t.

Later on Jesus was kind of taken to task for his disciples not fasting.  He said that they really didn’t have any need for it at this time since they had Him with them.  They would have plenty of opportunity to do so in the future when he had moved on.

My take is that fasting should be a normal part of the walk with Christ.

So, why don’t we do more it?  Or is it just me?

We don’t understand it.  We read that Jesus fasted for forty days in the wilderness and that is the image we conjure up of what fasting should be for us as well.  We don’t think of fasting as possibly setting aside a meal to spend time in prayer with the Lord.  It might not be two other meals during the day or days of doing so.

We don’t think we’re special enough.  After all, it’s those super Christians who fast and pray.  Or the weirdos.  We aren’t far enough in our life with Christ to begin fasting.  Maybe we’ll do it when we get there, but we haven’t arrived yet.  Sorry if I offend you, but that’s a lousy argument.  Remember back to when you were courting your significant other.  Would you have missed a meal to be with them?  Probably.  Besides, how do you think those “super Christians” became so super anyway?

We are afraid.  We’re afraid of the discomfort.  We’re afraid that people will think we’re strange.  We’re afraid to get out of our routines.  We’re afraid, as Jeff Goins might put it, that we will be wrecked.  We’re afraid that God will change our lives and, let’s be honest, we really don’t want our lives changed too much.

I want to challenge you.  If you haven’t fasted in a while. or at all, try it.  Give up a meal for Jesus.   Spend time in prayer with Him.

You might lose your appetite for a lot of things in your life that don’t need anyway.  You might develop an appetite for God.

How hungry are you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. November 14, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    There have been times I have fasted for one day a week but it was becoming too “Today is my day to fast”-ish to I quit. I have felt God “call me away” for a few days to a solitary place and I have fasted, except from juice and water. it was time well spent. Those were sweet days. It has been awhile. Does that say something about me?

    • November 15, 2013 at 6:40 am

      Bill, I think we need to be aware and do it as The Lord leads. But we especially need to do it to get closer to The Lord.

  2. November 14, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    I used to fast on Fridays, but fell away from it. I used to do a lot of things–including getting up early to pray.

    But now I don’t. I got worn out, burnt out, older, and have other struggles with health. I’m world-weary now.

    The faith walk isn’t as easy as it was in the early days. But I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

