Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church, Faith > Am I Called To Rip Other Christian Bloggers?

Am I Called To Rip Other Christian Bloggers?

There was another famous Christian celebrity type who caused a ruckus the other day.  What immediately happened shouldn’t have taken anyone by surprise.  You or I could have predicted it.

There was a ton of piling on.

The Christian blogosphere decided that it had to respond.  It tore this person to shreds.  There were tons of tweets.  A whole lot of mudslinging was going on.

I’ve written about this before  and I suppose I will again.  I don’t really think this issue will go away.

Certain people in our faith make themselves out to be judge, jury and executioner when it comes to high-profile pastors, bloggers and Christian thinkers.  If it runs contrary to what they believe, they fly off with the posts and tweets.

I get it.  I’ve been there.  I’ve done it.  I know what their thinking is.  They believe they’re performing a public service.  They’re pointing out error and solving all of the problems that are going on in Christianity.

The problem is that they aren’t.

They aren’t going to solve anything.  They aren’t going to change anyone’s minds.  They actually do two things.

One is that they further divide people.  They stir up the crowd that is already against who they are writing about.  They galvanize those who support who they’re attacking.  I’ve seen and been part of this on a smaller scale.  No good that I can see comes out of it.

The other thing is that those outside the camp sit back and laugh at all of us.  They poke fun that we fight each other.  They use this as proof that our faith is false since it can’t hold us together.

The only thing that comes out of ripping Celebrity Christians is that it stirs up controversy.  It creates more blog traffic, helps get book deals and books more speaking engagements.

It does not unify the Body of Christ.

Imagine an eye ripping a foot for what it does?  Or an ear?  Or a nose?  Or even a knee.

Why don’t we stop this?  Why don’t we aim to stimulate each other to love?  Why don’t we edify each other?  Not just the parts of the Body we like.  All of it.

Let’s let our words, our actions, our Tweets and our blog posts be what bind us together instead of what tear us apart.

What is your take on Christian celebrity bloggers ripping other Christian celebrity bloggers?

  1. November 15, 2013 at 1:57 am

    Wrong, just wrong. When I wrote about the stuff I did in “Bully (in the) Pulpit?” I made the choice to tell my tale with no names; I still think that we’re to praise in public, and correct in private in most cases. If there is a relationship with the “celebrity”, we are to go talk to them. In person and offline. Paul *did* publicly rebuke Peter, so there is precedent, but what we have today is not corrective or restorative – it is destructive.

    I’m grateful I don’t know the back story about what you are referring to here – I don’t go on Twitter that often, and I’m currently cut *way* back on my online reading – as I think it would only be heartbreaking.

    • November 15, 2013 at 6:36 am

      That’s what I think as I watch these folks just sitting back waiting for someone to disagree with.

  2. November 15, 2013 at 8:39 am

    I don’t know any celebrity bloggers. I gave up a long time ago reading the “biggies” in the blogging world, especially those who don’t allow comments. I prefer to read the every day people. But even that can get snarky at times. I prefer to not mention any names and not act as judge, jury and executioner. That was a former (pre blogging) life I would prefer to forget and let die.

  3. November 15, 2013 at 11:35 am

    Totally agree with you. And with what Rick posted, especially about calling each other out in private. The divisiveness is my biggest issue. Breeding disunity is not scriptural, and its heartbreaking. Paul clearly calls us to live at peace with each other, and to watch out for those who encourage otherwise.

    • November 20, 2013 at 2:31 am

      A drive without truth is a false, seed apostatica relies that don’t judge. We must judge with righteous judgment without hypocrisy. I say in public the truth in love according to what the word says. No for the sake of love let the yeast rise the dough, I’m not being true to my Lord. GBY.

    • November 20, 2013 at 2:38 am

      Pablo te ordena contender ardientemente por la fe.

  4. November 15, 2013 at 11:43 am

    Couldn’t agree more. I also like what Rick said about calling each other out in private. *That* is scriptural. Living at peace with each other, if possible, is scriptural. Breeding disunity is not, and actually Paul warns against those who would encourage it.
    Plus, I find a level of insult present. There is this sense of “protectiveness” taken on by the perpetrators, as if people are victims. Their accusations imply that people don’t go to the Word and prayer for themselves. If we know our bible, and spend time in it and in prayer, we will walk in Truth. We will be prepared to listen and read anything, and by the power of the Holy Spirit, be discerning about it.

  5. Dan Pedersen
    November 15, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    Agreed.

    • November 19, 2013 at 5:22 am

      Thanks for reading Dan

      • Dan Pedersen
        November 19, 2013 at 8:13 am

        No problem, it’s a good message.

  6. November 15, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    It’s sad when that happens. I understand that there can be disagreements but we need to focus on the issues, not on slaying the personalities.

  7. November 20, 2013 at 2:33 am

    ludin777 :
    A drive without truth is a false,. Apostatic seed relies that don’t judge. We must judge with righteous judgment without hypocrisy.. I say in public the truth in love according to what the word says. No for the sake of love let the yeast rise the dough, I’m not being true to my Lord. GBY.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

