Home > Christianity, Faith > Why Do We Have To Be Told God Is Good?

Why Do We Have To Be Told God Is Good?

Imagine for a moment that you were born blind.  That is difficult, if not impossible, to wrap our minds around.  Few are born blind.  I don’t happen to know anyone who is.

My father-in-law is color blind.  He can’t see reds or greens like most of us can.  I asked him once what the color red looked like to him.  He asked me to describe red to him.  I’ll wait for a moment to see if you can do a better job than I could.  No?  I didn’t think so.

I think we can get a slight sense of being blind when we close our eyes or if we are in a pitch dark room or cave where no light enters.  However,  try to describe to a someone who has never seen at all what it is like to have sight.  Could you really do it?

Jesus encountered people like this.  He ran across a blind man who wanted to see.  I suppose I would want to see, too, if someone had to lead me around all of my days.  Jesus made a little mixture of clay and spit.  He put it on the man’s eyes and he was able to see.  Imagine the excitement you would have if you had never seen anything at all and then suddenly could.

I don’t think we are too far off from this.  Sure, we can physically see, but far too many of us are blind spiritually.

We cannot see that God is good.

We look around the world.  We see all of the bad.  We see the evil in the world.  All of this leaves us fearful and far too many of us wonder where God is.

We are like the folks in Luke 13 who asked Jesus about the people who died when the Tower of Siloam fell on them.  They also asked about the Galileans who were slaughtered by Pilate.  They wondered what sins these folks committed.  Why?  Because if they hadn’t committed sins that caused these things to happen, if they just happened for no explainable reason, then God might not be good.  It doesn’t say that, but that is what they were getting at.

They were blind.  They didn’t know that God was good.

Jesus told them to worry about their own condition before God instead of everyone else’s.

In other words, He told them what David told us all back in the Psalms.

O, taste and see that the Lord is good.

I can’t make you see that God is good.  I can describe it , but you really can’t comprehend it.

I can’t convince you that a midst all of the chaos, evil and sin of the world that God is good and interested in you.

All I can do is what Jesus and David did.

I can tell you that if you don’t repent, you will perish.

I can tell you to taste and see that God is good.

He wants to put the spit-clay on your eyes.  He wants us to repent.  He wants us to put our faith and trust in Him alone.  He wants us to taste and see that He is good.

Have you ever had to be told that God is good?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , ,
  1. November 19, 2013 at 5:16 am

    Not told but reminded when I want to forget and think only of my own woes. When I began relaxing and being less judgmental towards others and myself I found less of a desire to question God’s goodness.

    • November 19, 2013 at 5:18 am

      Bill, I think it’s amazing that it does work out that way. When our hearts are harder it’s harder for us to see His goodness.

  2. November 19, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    I think we have to be told that God is good often so that we can bring ourselves back to that fact. It seems to me that the natural tendency of man is to drift away from God’s goodness and start believing that something or someone else is better than God.

    • November 20, 2013 at 5:58 am

      Caleb, I think that is exactly what happened with Adam and Eve. The serpent convinced them that there was something better. It set the pattern for all of us today.

  3. November 19, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    When we had a miscarriage I had to be reminded that God is good. It wasn’t an easy thing for us to go through. Yet at the end of the day God showed me that He is good.

    • November 20, 2013 at 5:59 am

      Rob, no doubt that was tough and any of us might question His goodness. I know that you know He is good, though. I’m sure you know Him better through it all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

