Home > Christianity, Faith > Music…..

Music…..

I love music.  I suppose I always have.  Some of my earliest memories are listening to the radio while lying in the backseat of the car.  I remember albums being stacked on the record player and hours of music filling the house.  Country music was the style of choice and I still love to hear any Country music prior to the early to mid 90’s.

Around freshmen year of high school, I added pop and rock to the repertoire of sounds that would flow out of my boom box.  Michael Jackson’s Thriller was an incredible experience for me at fourteen.  I still get excited when I hear Eddie Van Halen’s guitar solos on Beat It.

On the flip side to all of this were the preachers of my youth.  They told me that rock ‘n roll was evil.  I recall one even stating that the rhythms summoned demons with the beats.  You couldn’t trust it.  Interestingly enough, I didn’t hear a lot of preaching against Country music at the time.

I’m not sure exactly what it was about rock music that really bothered preachers except that it attracted kids.  Kids wanted to dance to it.  It challenged the authority of the establishment.  Maybe that’s what it was.  Everyone thought they would lose control of the kids if they listened to it.  One of the ways it was often expressed went like this:

If music makes you want to move your body more than your heart, then it’s wrong.

I’ve thought about that a lot over the years since I first heart that sentiment.  I’ve wrestled with it.  I may be a bit slow, but somewhere along the way I decided that this is wrong.

Music is designed to do a few things.  It designed to reach our emotions.  Through music and song, our feelings can be expressed in ways that they normally cannot be.

Music reaches into our heart.  It helps unlock feelings that we don’t even know that we have.

Music does create movement.  Try to stay perfectly still when you listen to any music.  You might tap your foot, play air drums or guitar or break out in free form dance.

Music helps you tell a story.  As you relate to the song, you and it help to create a new story, one that you didn’t know could exist.

Don’t you know that music was being played when David brought the Ark of the Covenant into Jerusalem?  It wasn’t just perfectly quiet.  This king loved music.  The music helped him express his joy.  It reached into his heart to help him express what he may not have known was there.  He danced and danced and danced before the Lord.  It created a story that otherwise would not have been told and would not impact us the same as if David had simply trucked the Ark into the city.

Music is powerful.  Instead of fearing the results of how it might affect us, let’s embrace it and express it for the Lord.

Do you love music?  How does it affect your life?

  1. November 22, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Music…both secular and Christian have always been a huge part of my life. The Lord has spoken to me through music on many occasions. It touches a part of my heart that other things can’t.

  2. November 22, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    I’m with Eileen. Both have been a huge part of my life. I went through the requisite “Christians shouldn’t be listening to anything but Christian music in the 70s-80s, but thankfully I am out of that. I still listen with discernment. I also still have my favorites (sorry CM is not one of them). Rock always has been and still is my tone of choice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

