Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Having Followers Doesn’t Mean You Have A Tribe

Having Followers Doesn’t Mean You Have A Tribe

We hear about it all the time.  At least those of us who are into blogging and such.

Build your platform.  Gather your followers.  Establish a tribe.

There is nothing wrong with any of that.  I want some of that myself.  There’s just one thing I have decided, though.

Having followers doesn’t mean you have a tribe.

Just ask Jesus.

People followed him all over Israel.  He started with a few fisherman.  He gathered some other Galileans.  Some zealots jumped on board and maybe some other political revolutionaries as well.

A few Pharisees sneaked in to see him in the dead of night, though most of them followed him in the daylight trying to catch him violating the law, or at least their version of it.  A few women joined in and seemed to help Jesus out financially.

The crowds gathered.  The crowds faded.  The treasurer betrayed Christ.  One of his right hand guys cursed and denied Him.

Jesus had plenty of followers.  Not all of them were in his tribe though.  Not all of them followed the Way. Everyone didn’t know the Truth.  They all didn’t live the Life.

If all of Jesus’ followers didn’t form His tribe, why should we expect anything to be different for us?

Some people show up for a while and then disappear.  Let’s face it, we’ve probably been guilty of it ourselves.  We follow someone hard for a while and then our interest wains.

I have figured out the secret to what it takes to form a tribe.  It sounds counter-intuitive.  It doesn’t make sense.  It has taken me a while to get this through my thick skull.

Tribes are not formed by writing blogs and waiting for someone to show up to read them.

Tribes are formed by establishing connections with people who truly benefit them.

What did Jesus do?  He said, “Follow me.”  Those that did and stuck with him gained the greatest benefits possible, far beyond what they could imagine.

What should we do?  Do what you can to benefit those who have chosen to follow you.  Seek out ways to benefit them in ways that somehow reach farther than just the post you wrote or the comments they make.

How do you do that?  Hey, I’m just now figuring some of this out.  Don’t expect me to have it all worked out yet.  I’m on a journey.  I just hope you’ll walk along with me.

Do you have followers?  A tribe?  Both?

***This is the 900th Deuceology post since I started this blog in 2011.  Thanks for hanging in there with me***

  1. November 25, 2013 at 1:05 am

    I don’t always say I’m here, but I am in your tribe! 🙂

    • November 25, 2013 at 6:09 am

      Michelle, I am in your tribe too. Love your podcasts. I try to listen to them each week.

  2. November 25, 2013 at 5:39 am

    Congrats on your #900 Larry. Since I’m not an Indian i don’t have a tribe. I do have friends and consider you one of my cyber friends. 🙂

    • November 25, 2013 at 6:10 am

      Thanks Bill. And one day I want to come up and worship with you and OVCF.

  3. November 25, 2013 at 8:00 am

    Best thing I’ve read on here in the year I’ve been following you on Twitter. Thanks for writing it – and don’t worry – everyone is trying to figure this thing out as they go along, whether they admit it or not. 🙂

  4. November 25, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    Congrats on #900! I think I have a bit of both.

  5. JT Adamson
    November 25, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    My tribe is small, but I am trying to persevere.

    I always say: If you cannot succeed, tribe, tribe again!

    • November 26, 2013 at 5:39 am

      J.T. You’re hilarious.

      • November 26, 2013 at 1:43 pm

        Aw shucks, thanks! Actually, as a child, I fell out of a window onto a sidewalk, leading with my huge noggin. Honest.

        It explains a lot.

      • November 27, 2013 at 5:09 am

        That explains a lot 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

