Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > What Are You Called To Do?

What Are You Called To Do?

I’ve shared a bit about my calling before.  For those you haven’t read it, I’ll bring you up to speed.

I announced a call to ministry in 1999.  I assumed that meant that I would be a pastor of a church.  Through much angst, I decided that my family and I would move to Louisville, KY so that I could attend seminary.  After a few of the hardest, if not the hardest, months of my life, we moved back home.  I thought that my calling to ministry was over.

Little did I know that it was just beginning.

Eleven years later, I’m just beginning to understand this.

My wife’s uncle told me once that my ministry would be unique.  It has simply taken me longer than I ever expected to find this place in my life.

For the first time in over a decade I’m excited to be in my local church.

The Lord has given me opportunities to preach and teach in my new church.

I’ve had a few other opportunities arise as well.

My friend Faye asked me not too long ago a question.  I may get the exact words wrong, but not the message of what she asked me.

“What’s next?”

That’s a loaded question, isn’t it?

So, let me tell you what I want to do.  When I say what I want to do, please don’t misunderstand.  I’ve prayed about it and asked the Lord.  The answer keeps coming back to this.

I want to do exactly what I’m doing.

I want to write.  I want to preach.  I want to teach.

Is that it?

Heavens no.  Those are just the primary ministries that He is calling me to right now.

I want to nourish myself on everything the Lord give me to fuel those things.  His word.  Mission.  Ministry.  Love.

I was in a small group just the other day.  I looked around at people who I am just getting to know.  I love them.  I listen to them, hear their stories and love them more.

What’s next?  I don’t fully know.  I just know that He will lead me day by day and I don’t have to spend too much time letting that question stress me like it once did.

What are you called to do?

  1. November 26, 2013 at 5:35 am

    Many people think the only ministry happens in a pulpit. Wrong wrong wrong. You have one at work. You have one at home. You definitely are having one at your church. Go for it!

  2. November 26, 2013 at 6:04 am

    Good words, Larry. And, you are right, we tackled a similar theme this week. I agree with Bill too. Ministry is done everywhere.

  3. November 26, 2013 at 7:59 am

    Just because there is a period doesnt mean the story is over. In fact, there are other sentences and paragraphs and books to go. I’m learning that periods in my life are just breathers…

  4. robshep
    November 26, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    Great words! I am called to make disciples. That’s what I’m trying to do.

    • November 27, 2013 at 5:08 am

      Rob, you’re doing a fine job and you’re reach is far.

  5. November 27, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    I never would have thought that the Lord would call me to preach. It really was last on my list or actually it wasn’t even on my list. However, the Lord made it clear in 1997 that he was calling me to preach the gospel. Later he led my wife and I to Ukraine to serve the local church and help train church leaders.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

