Home > Christianity, Faith > I’m Sick Of It

I’m Sick Of It

Should you always share your thought on Twitter?  How about on Facebook?  Should you write about everything that’s on your mind?

Trust me, it’s question I’ve asked as I’ve composed and tweeted around 37,000 tweets since June 2009.

I haven’t always discriminated on what I’ve shared with the world in social media.  I’ve tweeted out pictures of the burgers I’ve been grilling.  I’ve shared political thoughts and ideas that others have supported and disagreed with .

I’ve had my share of Twitter wars and Facebook fights.

Guess what?

I’m sick of it.

Even if I haven’t done it in a while.

I see someone Tweeting something they believe, only to be blasted immediately by those who disagree with them. I have seen it escalate to the point of blogposts being written about those tweets.

Some of us have decided to appoint ourselves the protectors of everyone else from what we think are errant tweets.

I’m sick of it.

Recently, a well known pastor and preacher tweeted what he meant as comforting words in the face of tragedy.  He did this from his particular viewpoint and his understanding of God.

What happened?

He was demonized by some and taken to task by others.  Not from outside the Church, supposedly.  No, from supposed brothers and sisters in Christ.

I’m sick of it.

I know that we all have opinions.  I know I do.  Strong ones at that.

Dang, though, who in the world and why in the world do some have to sit there monitoring others just so they can rip them to shreds.

I’m sick of it.

What are you sick of?

  1. November 27, 2013 at 1:27 am

    It is troublesome, and I try not to let myself get sucked by my curiosity into reading those kinds of tweets and posts. I think some people need controversy and upheaval. But more, I think people need to feel superior. I know when I’ve been guilty of gossiping and condemning someone’s words or actions, it’s generally boiled down to “I can’t believe they did that – I would never do that!” Because I know better, have better opinions/ideas/morals/whatever it is – basically because I think I’m just better. When I realized what I was REALLY saying with my bitter words, it humbled me and made me stop that kind of behavior. Well, mostly. But I try hard not to judge people and condemn anymore. Also because I don’t know what’s in their hearts and minds, or what motivates their words or actions. No matter how much I may have claimed to, or really believed I did.

  2. JT Adamson
    November 27, 2013 at 1:47 am

    I’m sick of your writing. Why did I even read this post???!!! That was 80 seconds of my life that I’ll never get back.

    OK, for reals: people are mean. I’ve heard it said that those who need proof of the depravity of man should just lock 2 sweet toddlers in a room together for 5 minutes. With 1 toy.

    Another possible proof would be reading social media for 5 minutes. Or my blog.

    • November 27, 2013 at 5:02 am

      Amen, J.T. I’ll let you figure out which part

      • November 27, 2013 at 11:02 am

        I’m going to assume the best of you.

      • November 29, 2013 at 2:03 pm

        Hahaha!!!

  3. November 27, 2013 at 7:12 am

    I am sick of people telling me I need to be more connected to social media. The answer is “NO!” Emphatically.

    • November 27, 2013 at 8:28 am

      But Bill, if you were just on Twitter and Facebook…..

  4. robshep
    November 27, 2013 at 7:40 am

    AGREED!

  5. November 27, 2013 at 9:37 am

    Man I loved this post! I am not sick of Deuceology. I want more of it.

    • November 29, 2013 at 2:03 pm

      Thanks Stephen. I always enjoy The Bearded Idealist.

  6. November 27, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    I am sick of cancer, families breaking up, too much stuff, sin, others and my own. I think, no I know I would be sick of too much social media too if I did too much. I am not sick of the gift of choice to let all the negative things in this world control me. One little tap and what ever social media I want to cut off is gone. I am not sick of the immediate access to my heavenly Father. And I am not sick either brother of yours and a few others post that stir my soul to walk a little closer to Him. Many of you boost my boldness to be in others face with truth. I figure if they can sling all the mud, dirt, nasty remarks they should be able to take me slinging the love God. The armor of God is strong enough to withstand any firey dart the world may send. By the way, I am suited up today. Happy Thanksgiving Larry to you and yours.

  7. November 27, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Wow, you do have a lot of tweets! Anyway, what I’m really sick of right now is hearing about all the sales for Black Friday and all the materialism around Thanksgiving.

    • November 29, 2013 at 2:01 pm

      Black Friday is sickening, Caleb. I don’t participate.

  8. Ricky Anderson
    November 27, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    Clean your feed. I can’t tell you what a joy it was to have no political tweets in my feed last election simply because I’d cleaned my feed beforehand.

  9. November 27, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    I’m getting pretty good at reducing my FB feed for just that reason.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

