Home > Christianity, Faith > We’re All In This Together

We’re All In This Together

One of the recurring themes that keeps coming up in my thoughts is the fact that we’re all in this thing together.

Batman was solo when he first started.  Eventually Bruce Wayne took Dick Grayson in as his ward and Batman gained a sidekick with Robin.

A menace from outer space terrorized the Earth in 1960.  Joining to combat it was Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, Flash, Aquaman and Martian Manhunter.  None of them could face the threat alone.  They came together to defeat it.

Iron Man debuted in the Marvel Cinematic Universe in 2008.  The Hulk followed a couple of months later.  Iron Man 2 came around two years later and then Thor and Captain America showed up in 2011.  The Avengers assembled to face Loki and a huge cosmic threat in 2012 to face what they could not face alone.

These comic books and movies are just glimpses of what we need to understand about our faith.  We can’t do it on our own.

An eye can’t live without an ear or the rest of the body.  They’re each connected to the other and cannot stand alone.

Neither can we.

We aren’t Lone Ranger Christians.  We aren’t Tontos either.  We’re more.  Much more.

We aren’t flying solo.  I’ve only really flown twice in my life.  What I realized that there was no flying solo.  Teams made the plane fly and land and everything in between.

We’re all in this together.  Let’s go out and prove it now.

How does your life show that we’re all in this together?

  1. December 3, 2013 at 5:29 am

    As a pastor I know I am not in this alone. I have to have others to have this thing called “church” work. i spent too many years trying to be the Lone Ranger.

    • December 3, 2013 at 5:49 am

      I’m not in “church” work and I have too Bill.

  2. robshep
    December 3, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    I hope it shows by people around me understanding how much I need them because of my weaknesses. The key then is to have them not judge me where I’m weak but to work with me to make us stronger.

    • December 4, 2013 at 5:48 am

      Amen, Rob. If we makes sure we don’t judge each other and pick each other up, that makes the difference.

  3. katinavaselopulos
    December 3, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    Hi Lary, Especially these past years, if I never knew it before, I know it now. We are indeed in this earth life together to teach and learn from each other, to encourage and support, to lift each others’s heavy weights, to work together to build a better world! My daugher in Gereece also came to this realization these passed couple of years, as every time she was down there was always an angel to lift her and get her out of despair, to help her pay her bills and put food on the table. God has put a net of wonderful people around us…family, friends, even strangers…who are there to get us through the worst, to help us grow spiritually, to build our faith and trust in God and his Universe. Great Post! Problems with my computer only allow me to send emails. Nothing esle works. All best, Katina Date: Tue, 3 Dec 2013 06:08:28 +0000 To: katiakantzia@msn.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

