Home > Christianity, Faith > Do You Have A Sabbath?

Do You Have A Sabbath?

I have a confession to make.

I have never mowed the yard on a Sunday.

You can pick your jaws up off the floor.  I know that was a startling revelation, but it had to be done.

Seriously, though, I’m not getting on you if you have or do.  That’s your business and between you and the Lord.  I don’t because it was how I was raised.  We didn’t do any unnecessary work on Sunday.  We fed our cows, but that was about it.  Sunday was a day of rest.  I compromised that with my first job working in a grocery store.  We had to haul hay once so that we could get it in before it rained.  There were some exceptions.

I understand that you may have to work on Sunday.  That’s ok.  I get that.  Not everyone can work a Monday through Friday or Saturday job.  My preacher friends work on Sunday.  Trust me, preaching is work.  Physically it can have the same effect of running a distance race.  I’ve done it and can attest.  It will wipe you out.

My concern is that you take some sort of sabbath.  You need a day to kick back and not work.  The Lord did it.  After six days of creation, He rested on the seventh.  And He’s God.  He wasn’t tired like you and me.

I hope you take a day where you can turn your focus away from the normal things you face during the other six.  I hope you have a day where may pay special attention to the Lord.  No, I hope this isn’t your only day you do this, but one where your focus is heightened.

I hope you spend some time with family or friends on this day.  You make it a day that you just hang together.  Maybe see family you haven’t seen all week.

Most of all, I hope you have the true Sabbath in your life.  If you know Christ, He is your Sabbath.  He is your rest.  You want rest?  He offers it to you.

Do you have a Sabbath?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. December 4, 2013 at 5:26 am

    I can’t say I have a day where I do not work since owning a home tends to throw all that to the wind. I do have a day off from going to the office (Friday) and guard that pretty well. That is the day I do what I want to- like ride my bike longer or whatever I want to do.

  2. December 4, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Sabbath is something I need to constantly “work” on. We need a minute of Sabbath every hour. We need an hour of Sabbath every day. We need a day of Sabbath every week….

  3. December 4, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    My Sabbath seems to fluctuate. I don’t have a specific day but I do try to make down time with my family either one of the weekend days each week.

    • December 5, 2013 at 5:50 am

      That’s awesome, Eileen. I can tell from all you do that you are family oriented.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

