Home > Christianity, Faith > You Can’t Outpatient God

You Can’t Outpatient God

I like fruit.  Apples.  Oranges.  A banana here and there.  Some grapes.  Love.  Joy.  Peace.  Self-control.

Yes, I began naming fruit of the Spirit there.   I imagine us having this fruit something like this.  The Father sends the Spirit of His Son into our hearts.  That’s what Paul writes in Galatians.  It’s in the Bible, so I take that as truth.  It’s as if we come to know Christ so the Father plants the Holy Spirit into our lives.  The result?

He begins producing fruit in our lives.  I mentioned a few of the fruit above.  There’s one, though, that seems to be the hardest for me.

Patience.

I’m just not a naturally patient person.  I trade the wonderful flavor and aroma of popcorn popped in a pot on the stove for a bag in the microwave for a couple of minutes.  Truth be told, I do this in many more areas of my life as well.

I have patience it seems.  It just isn’t developed and fully grown yet.  It’s like a green  tomato that teases and promises to be ripened, sliced and smothered with Duke’s mayonnaise on my sandwich.  As Axl and the other GNR boys might have said, “All it takes is just a little patience.”

If our patience is a special kind that enters our life through the Spirit, it means that God is an extremely patient God.  After all, He doesn’t measure time like we do.  A day is like a thousand years.  A thousand years is like a day.  He is patient, waiting for the day that all who will come to Him is complete.

He is patient.

What I am just beginning to grasp is that He has given us His patience.

He trades the microwavable bag of popcorn for the kind where he heats the grease, stirs and shakes the kernels until they pop a delicious bowl.

And even though he has given us this patience, we can’t outpatient Him.  He can wait until the perfect time.  He wants ours to grow.  He longs for ours to ripen until it’s ready to be plucked from the vine.

You want to be more patient?  He has given you everything you need.  He has given you patience.

How is your patience these days?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , , ,
  1. December 5, 2013 at 5:04 am

    Generally, I do okay in this department, but I’ve noticed I get a little more impatient as I’ve gotten older when I’m tired.

  2. December 5, 2013 at 5:19 am

    I am a lot more patient than I used to be. Not completely there and probably never will be. 🙂 When I grow up maybe I will be.

    • December 5, 2013 at 5:49 am

      Amen, Bill. When we grow up. I long more for that day than I used to.

  3. Ricky Anderson
    December 5, 2013 at 8:54 am

    I was skimming this post until I hit the word ‘patience’.

    Guess that says how I’m doing, huh?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

