Home > Christianity, Faith > House Rules: Jay, AC/DC And Me

House Rules: Jay, AC/DC And Me

During my senior year of high school, I worked at Food City.  I was a bag boy and spent almost every Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings working.  In my memory, it remains the most fun I’ve ever had working.  I liked the people I worked with and our antics bordered on the ridiculous.

One of the assistant managers was named Jay.  For better or worse, he became a mentor to me.  I was a seventeen year old boy and, let’s be honest since I’ve been there, he was a twenty-four year old boy.  He was just a few years further down the road.

He loaned me an AC/DC tape one day.  That was the kind of music I enjoyed in those days, so don’t hold that against me, though I still feel nostalgic whenever I hear the guitar intro to Back In Black.

One night at work the phone rang.  Someone said it was for me, so I picked the receiver up.  I was soon shaking in my boots.

“Whose tapes are in your room?”  It was my dad.  Why he was in my room I never knew.  He simply was.  It was his house and he could go where he pleased.  I understand that as a father today.

“They’re Jay’s.”  I’m sure my voice quivered as I said this.  My dad hated this kind of music, the devil’s music.  In fact, I had been convinced when I was young that any rock music after 1969 was made by devil worshipers.

“If he wants them, tell him to be here to get them when you get off.  Otherwise they’re going in the garbage.”  That was it.  End of story.

I remember Jay kind of laughing it off.  He followed me home and I went in to get the tapes.  I handed them to him, but that wasn’t the end of it.  He wanted to talk to my dad.

I got my dad out of bed.  He went out to Jay’s car.  Jay apologized for putting me in this position, but then followed it up with this statement.

“It’s not really a big deal. It’s only rock ‘n roll.”

My dad gave him a look only my dad could.  It was sort of like Clint Eastwood, only meaner.

“It’s a big deal to me.”

You see the one thing that I didn’t understand was something that Jay also didn’t understand then.

Rules.

My dad made the house rules about this kind of music.

I got a good talking to about this kind of music.  Did it make a difference?  Absolutely.  I was a lot more careful in listening to AC/DC and all kinds of other music that he didn’t like going forward.

I was wrong, but that’s what I did.

Too many of us do the same thing to God.  He is God.  He makes the house rules.  We tend to thumb our nose at them.  We sin.

And for some reason He extends grace to us.  Sometimes we grasp this and throw ourselves on His mercy.

Out of sheer delight, we may see the wisdom of the rules and out of desire to please Him, our lives reflect this.

Have you ever had trouble following “house rules”?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. December 10, 2013 at 5:55 am

    There was never a “rule” against any kind of music in our house. The one rule I do remember no bending on was curfew. There were others like wearing a shirt at the table and not putting our elbows on the table when we ate, but the curfew was a big one. I was pretty “whatever’ and didn’t want to disappoint my parents so i conformed to their rules. There is the pleasing people syndrome.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    December 10, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    I don’t have to agree with the house rules, but as a Christian, I do have to comply. That’s the hard part of obedience. However, when we see the rewards of obedience, we start to agree with the house rules.

  3. December 12, 2013 at 11:00 am

    Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time
    choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for getting
    off-topic but I had to ask!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

