Home > Christianity, Faith > I Believe/Help My Unbelief

I Believe/Help My Unbelief

Maybe like me, you liked the TV show LOST.  Let me rephrase that.  I loved the show.  I don’t know how you felt about it.

One of the characters, John Locke, was a man of faith.  He was often contrasted with Jack Shepherd, a man of reason.

One of their scenes went something like this:

John Locke:  “Why do you find it so hard to believe?”

Jack Shepherd:  “Why do you find it so easy?”

What was John’s reaction to this?  “It’s never been easy.”

This reminds me of the story of the man whose child was possessed of a spirit.  The disciples couldn’t help the child.  They came to Jesus.  He told the father that anything was possible if he believed.  The father’s response?

“I believe; help my unbelief.”

We can relate to this can’t we?

We believe that Christ can do anything.  After all, He is God.  He defeated death and sin.  He rose again on the third day.

We come to Him with our situations.  Sometimes they seem hopeless.  We don’t know if there is any way out.  We know that He can do it for us.

Yet, too often, we don’t believe.  We haven’t seen Him do anything like this in our lives.  He hasn’t made it happen personally in our lives.  We may believe, but we have enough unbelief in our life to make up for the optimism.

We believe.  We just need Him to help us with our belief.

We need a check in the mailbox that we weren’t expecting.

We need healing from a sickness that seems beyond hope.

We need ________ for our belief to truly kick in.

We believe, Lord.  Help our unbelief.  We need You more than anything.

Do you believe, but need help with your unbelief?

  1. December 12, 2013 at 5:34 am

    I have always liked that story of Jesus’ encounter with that man and his son. Especially because of the question of faith and the fact it was right after the mountaintop experience of the Transfiguration. There have been times I have said, “God, i have this much faith. Expand it until it is a trusting faith.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

