Home > Uncategorized > 5 Lessons I Have Learned In 5 Years Of Blogging

5 Lessons I Have Learned In 5 Years Of Blogging

Today is the fifth anniversary of when I began blogging.  I paused recently to think about doing this thing now for five years.  I have learned a great deal over the past 1,826 days and half millions words or so.

Focus.  I knew absolutely nothing when I began blogging.  I just sat down and started writing.  I had no plan.  No idea what I wanted to do.  I just wanted to write down random thoughts.  There was no focus.

Community.  When I first started I would publish a post and wait for all of the world to read it.  Then I would realize that no one was just going to show up to read.  I began working on forming a community of friends who show up and read regularly.  It is gratifying to know people read this blog.  It is more so when I get to know them from spending time on each other’s blogs.

Tone. I defined myself too often early on by what I was against rather than what I was for.  I allowed my posts to be too negative.  I learned through some difficult lessons to alter the tone to a much more positive degree.

Humility.  I wanted to prove to everyone who read my blog early on how smart I was.  What I learned in five years is how little I really know.  I’m learning as I go on this journey.

Content.  My content has changed over the years.  I have tried my hand at throwing in some sports.  I have tried to be humorous.  I have been a little sarcastic.  I’ve based posts on songs and done book reviews.  I’ve carefully learned what I’m decent at and what I should avoid.

If you are a blogger or read blogs, you have probably learned some lessons as well.  What have you learned through blogging?

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 13, 2013 at 6:10 am

    How much time do you have? Sheesh I have learned so much. I knew nothing about blogging except I read some and it looked like fun. At times it is. But at times it is work. I have learned it can be all-consuming. But I have also come to value the online friendships I have developed, as well as the desire to write. I like being able to put my thoughts into words. Thanks for “being there.” Congrats on 5 years.

  2. robshep
    December 13, 2013 at 7:16 am

    I’ve learned that I love to write! I didn’t write much before the blog.

  3. Ricky Anderson
    December 13, 2013 at 8:14 am

    I’ve learned not to let stats be your motivator. I used to write just to hit post. That’s good way to turn it into a chore. Now I don’t look at stats. I post when I have something. And I enjoy it again.

  4. December 13, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Congrats on the anniversary, Larry!

    I’ve learned how much I like writing through my blogging experience.

  5. December 13, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    Half a million words! That seems like a lot! Anyway congrats! I think blogging has helped me stay disciplined and taught me to write not just for myself but for others too.

  6. December 14, 2013 at 12:42 am

    I enjoy blogging and reading others…great way to learn something new. What have I learned, not to take myself to seriously. I have more heart then intellect which means I am pretty simple in my writing style so I have learned not to compare but just enjoy others who do have some smarts. You have wrote more words then I have for sure…and they say we women say more words then men. Only kidding…glad you are still writing after five years.

  7. December 14, 2013 at 6:47 am

    Congrats, Larry! I have learned some of the same lessons. Love how this is a journey and we learn and grow as we go!

  8. December 14, 2013 at 7:37 am

    I have only been blogging for a few months and I have learned that people really interested in what you have to say. Usually you are your own worse critic. I have noticed that actively connecting with others on their blogs helps you develop as a better blogger. And community is huge. Everyone is so helpful.

  9. December 14, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    I would like to springboard off of your 5 lessons:

    Focus – I think my focus has, sort of, um…what?

    Community – I never watched it, but I liked Chevy Chase back in the day

    Tone – Whatever.

    Humility – It’s hard. It’s hard.

    Content – I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.

    Other than that, I’ve learned that I really like to write. I also like to twist other people’s valuable lessons into jokes. I’m sure I still have a lot to learn.

    As a reader, I’ve also learned I don’t mind short posts. When I started, I felt obligated to write long things, but I find I’m never disappointed if someone else’s post is short, but good, so I try to remind myself that it doesn’t always have to be wordy. At all.

    Stopping now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

