Home > Christianity, Faith > The Limitation Of Free Will

The Limitation Of Free Will

Every once in a while I have a slight argument with someone about my theological views.  It doesn’t happen very often anymore.  I have no desire to argue with anyone about what I believe.  I don’t believe it does the Body of Christ any good.  I also like to show the world that I can work with those who don’t believe 100% as I do.  I believe that we can be in unity, without being in unanimity.

One of those issues that comes up is when the issue of predestination comes up.  Some folks want to argue that predestination limits their free will, or even negates it.

I could go into some philosophical arguments about how you don’t have free will the way you think.  There is usually a determining agent involved in all of our choices.  For example, if you go buy a car, your choice, your free will, is limited to the cars available at the car lot or lots you purchase your car from.  You don’t have total free will to buy any car available.  Your choices are limited.  Your free will isn’t quite as free as you think.

However, I wouldn’t really bring that up with anyone in a discussion with most people.  The other argument is something I would bring up only among theology junkies who really get into that sort of thing.  And most of the time I would just prefer to listen to people smarter than me.  I don’t have all of this stuff really figured out.  I’m learning.

What I would talk about with most folks is refer to the Bible and say this:  Without Christ, we are slaves to sin.

Jesus tells us that in John 8, verse 34.

Paul echoes this in Romans 6.

The Bible indicates that we in slavery to sin without the Lord.  That means that you and I are born that way.  It’s our very nature before we become new creatures.

Every thought, good or bad, before we are born again is captured in slavery to sin.

I don’t particularly like the thoughts of that.  I push back against.  I fight against it. I war with in my flesh.  I just can’t get away from that fact.

I had absolutely no free will prior to Christ.  Now?

Well, I’m still figuring that part out.  I know that I’m much closer to having the free will that we all want now that I am in God’s family.

Free will has its limitations.  It isn’t all it’s cracked up or made out to be.  One day, though.  I’m looking forward to that day.

How do you feel about your will once being enslaved to sin?

  1. December 17, 2013 at 5:54 am

    I have no trouble believing my will was enslaved to sin. Without Christ I was a slave to it. That chain was busted when i came to faith in Christ.

  2. December 17, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Most excellent post. Everything in me points to my former nature. I’m not shocked at all that I was a slave to sin. Sin is always trying to get me to go back to that old way of life. I like being free a lot more.

    • December 17, 2013 at 1:33 pm

      Thanks Rob!!! Sometimes we pick the shackles up ourselves, don’t we?

  3. December 17, 2013 at 10:54 am

    I am just glad that there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

