Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Why Reinvent The Wheel?

Why Reinvent The Wheel?

Recently I had the opportunity to work on a project for my church.  I won’t bore you with the details, but it was pretty important.  It involved revamping some previous work that others had completed.

I had a couple of choices.  I could start all over from scratch and totally redo what had been done before me.  I would totally ignore all of the hard work and blood, sweat and tears that all of these other godly people had done.

My other choice was that I could take what they had done and simply tweak what they had done.  I could reword some of it.  It could be condensed.  I could rearrange it.

Guess which one I chose?

The thing I didn’t want to do was reinvent the wheel.

Too often I think we try to do this in the Church.  We think that the old way of doing things is outdated.  We change our music from choirs to praise bands.  Perhaps we relax our dress.  Maybe we add liturgy to our services.  We shelve Sunday school in exchange for small groups.  We go for simpler church compared to what we have known in the past.

We try to reinvent the wheel.

What ends up happening?  We create our version of church that someone will do the same thing to at some future date.  Our way of doing things will be discarded.  A style of music we don’t care for will be added.  Maybe instead of small groups meetings will be done by Skype.

How about we evaluate what we do  and why we do it?  Why don’t we ask some questions before tossing something aside that others care deeply about.  Let’s have some discussions about it.  Maybe there is value in some of the older things and we can learn from them.  Let’s not just change for the sake of change.

Let’s not get in too big of a hurry to reinvent the wheel.

Have you ever been guilty of trying to reinvent the wheel when it didn’t need to be changed?

  1. December 18, 2013 at 5:29 am

    You said something that was ringing in my head as I read. “Let’s not change for change sake.” I think some people do that in an effort to show they are “with it.” Sometimes a little tweaking might be all that is needed. I agree. Let’s not reinvent the wheel.

  2. December 18, 2013 at 11:22 am

    You are on to something. I think we do need change. New brings excitement. But new doesn’t stay new for long. Like you eluded to what happens is that new becomes a sacred cow that can never be changed. People end up liking their memory of the new more than the results that is no longer producing.

  3. December 20, 2013 at 11:02 am

    What is often forgotten when the wheel is “reinvented” is all those faithful people who are “ran over” by the new wheel of change. However, I’m not advocating living in rut either but balancing those whose.
    .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

