Home > Christianity, Faith > That’s Enough

That’s Enough

I once watched someone get fired.  I wasn’t actually in the room, but I knew it was coming and was even asked to be around in case things got ugly.  It didn’t go well, as expected, and the person being fired burst out of the room causing a bit of a ruckus.  After a few minutes of everything being stirred up, someone close to this individual came to them.  They told them, “That’s enough” and led them away to calm down.

We’ve all experienced that at some point or another.  It may have been a spouse in some sort of argument that occurred.  Maybe a child has pitched a fit. Perhaps someone is just insolent toward you.

Maybe you just need to say, “That’s enough.”

*****

When we look at the creation account in Genesis 1, we might see something interesting.  Very methodically, day by day, God created the universe.  He created the heavens and the earth and the light and the dark.  He continues each day, creating, finishing for the day and moving on to the next day.  When He is finished, He rests.

What is interesting is that He didn’t create everything at once.  He took His time.  He had a plan.  He created for the day and then started again the next day.

It’s as though, at the end of each day, He said, “That’s enough.”

*****

If you have read this blog long, you know that one of my favorite bible verses is Psalm 34:8:  “O taste and see that the Lord is good.”

God challenges us to taste Him and see that He is good, but can we see something else lurking there.

We taste and see so many things in our lives.  We can fill our lives up with so much, much of it good.  Very little of it is what we would actually call bad.  Much of it, though, we would say we need.

What is God asking us?  When it gets down to it, is He asking us if He is a priority?

Can we look at our lives and relationship with the Lord and say, “That’s enough.”?

Is God enough for you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. January 8, 2014 at 1:18 am

    I love that verse, Larry! “Taste and see!” God’s inviting us along on an adventure. Asking us to trust Him.

    Honestly, I don’t always live like He’s enough. I want more. But it’s hard to kick against the goads.

    (PS look up Tim Hawkins life verse on YouTube)

  2. January 8, 2014 at 6:54 am

    “It’s as though, at the end of each day, He said, “That’s enough” I really like that, Larry.

    • January 8, 2014 at 6:56 am

      Thanks Eileen. I even liked it, which doesn’t happen all of the time.

  3. January 8, 2014 at 8:36 am

    I’d like to say yes He is but I know my practice is sometimes different. In reality He is.

  4. January 8, 2014 at 10:44 am

    Well said, Larry! God is Good. That’s enough.

  5. January 8, 2014 at 11:52 am

    Larry, I sure do hope so. It’s so easy to taste things that are less filling but get full on them. I hope I constantly hunger and thirst for God.

  6. January 8, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    Thankfully I’ve only had to fire a couple of people in my carrier but I can certainly say, “that’s enough”. I really don’t enjoy doing it. On the other hand I think that there are many things in my life that I can look at and say “that’s enough” it’s not that I don’t want more but simply that I’m content with what God has given me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

