Home > Christianity, Faith > You Have To Come Down Off That Mountain

You Have To Come Down Off That Mountain

I wake up early every morning.  Very early.  In fact, I wake up around 4:30 every morning no matter what time I go to bed.  I will usually lie there waiting a bit until I actually decide to slip out of bed.  I’m usually sitting in the family room by 4:45.  I use this time by myself to read the Bible and pray before I do anything else.  It’s simply how I like to start my day.

Recently I had an experience that is difficult to describe.  My prayer life for some time has been difficult.  I have felt like I was banging my head against the ceiling as I have tried to talk to the Lord.  My prayer this particular morning was different.  I begged Him for something to change.  Suddenly, it was as if God had removed every barrier that had stood between my prayer and Him.  I lost all track of time and openly wept before His throne.  When I was finally done I felt like I hadn’t in a long time, if I ever had.

I don’t say any of this to make much of myself.  It wasn’t me that caused this.  It was the Lord.

I bring this up simply to say that I had a mountain top experience.  It was awesome and I want to hang on to how that felt in my memory for as long as possible.  There’s just one thing.

I had to come off the mountain.

*****

Jesus spent some time on top of a mountain speaking to a large crowd.  There He taught those following Him around exactly what His kingdom was all about.  We find that in Matthew chapters 5 through 7.

When He was done, He came down off the mountain.  The crowds followed Him as His ministry extended beyond merely teaching.  He began to heal and perform miracles among the people.

It would probably have been easy to have stayed where He was.  He had a crowd hanging on His every word.  He could have been King of the Mountain.

Instead, He had work to do.

He had to come off the mountain.

*****

Later on Jesus took Peter, James and John up on a mountain.  There Jesus was transfigured.  Moses and Elijah showed up and spoke with Jesus. The Father enveloped them in His glory and declared how please He was in His Son.   Then it was over and everything was back to normal.

Peter wanted to stay there.  Building a tabernacle for Jesus, Moses and Elijah was on his mind.  Jesus told them to not tell anyone until after He had risen.

He had work to do.

He had to come off the mountain.

*****

Jesus climbed another mountain.  This time He climbed it basically alone.  He was placed between two thieves on the cross.  He suffered and died after crying out to His Father.

He was taken down off the cross and placed in a tomb.

He had work to do.

He had to come off the mountain.

*****

Mountain top experience are nice.  They help build our faith.  Much can be shown to us.  God can draw us closer to Himself on the mountain top.  It just doesn’t end there.

We’ve got work to do.

We have to come off the mountain.

Have you ever had a mountain top experience?  How do you hang onto to that when you come off the mountain?

  1. January 9, 2014 at 5:19 am

    Those mountain top experiences are like a breath of fresh air. Unfortunately, they seem to be too few and far between. “I’d like to live on a mountain top fellowshiping with the Lord” so Amy Grant sang many moons ago. But the valley calls.

    • January 9, 2014 at 5:21 am

      Life just isn’t spent on the mountain top, is it?

  2. January 9, 2014 at 10:28 am

    Loved reading about your visit to the mountain. I tend to be pretty even with emotions. The problem is that sometimes I make the amazing normal and miss the mountain.

    • January 10, 2014 at 5:31 am

      That’s how I am normally…..this was a different animal

  3. January 9, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    Going to Guatemala the past two summers definitely provided some mountaintop experiences for me. It’s been helpful to regularly reflect on these trips.

    Stephen Curtis Chapman wrote a song called “The Mountain” that seems to resonate with your thoughts above. Here’s a link to check out the lyrics: http://www.metrolyrics.com/the-mountain-lyrics-steven-curtis-chapman.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

