Home > Christianity, Faith > So Right So Wrong

So Right So Wrong

I still remember it like it was yesterday.  I hadn’t been married long.  I was twenty-three or so and knew everything.  After all, I was twenty-three.  Or so.

We ate lunch most Sundays at my in-laws.  My sisters-in-law weren’t married yet, though both had fellows they were dating and one would eventually marry.

I’m not sure how the conversation started, but it was typical Sunday afternoon lunch table fare.  You know, The Bible.   Aliens.  Life on other planets.  Just normal stuff.

The debate continued between two of us, one sister-in-law and me.  She believed life was possible on other worlds.  I didn’t.

We battled back and forth for a while.  The result?  My sister-in-law ended up crying.  That’s how good of an argument I put up.  I won.  I was right.  I was so right.

I was wrong.

*****

That’s a problem that too many of us share.  We take a stand.  We fight for what we believe in.  We do everything we can to convince we are right.

We are so right.  We are so wrong.

We lose sight of everything else, other than simply being right.

It doesn’t matter who we are battling.  We don’t care how the other person feels.  We don’t consider the other person’s opinion or take on the subject.

All that matters is being right.

*****

Truth exists.  It matters.  For those of us who share this faith in Christ, truth is a person.  It matters more than anything else.

However, one problem we face is when we confuse the Truth with our truth.  When something we believe or prefer becomes entwined with the One we believe in.

It could be music or movies.  It might be sports or cards.

It might be aliens from outer space.

It could be when you are so right you’re so wrong.

Have you ever been so right about something you are so wrong

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , ,
  1. January 23, 2014 at 5:30 am

    I can remember being so right about doctrine. I was right and everyone outside my camp was wrong. That was many moons ago. I was wrong…so wrong.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    January 23, 2014 at 7:39 am

    Alien life is possible. I know because I’m right.

    So right.

  3. January 23, 2014 at 9:21 am

    I’m usually on the other side of it. After a certain amount of “conversation” with someone who clearly being right is more important than anything else – even more important than whatever it is we’re talking about – I just shut up and try to end the conversation. It’s just too exhausting. And it’s not a real discussion anyway, it’s really one sided, because they’ll not hear anything you have to say. Like I said, it’s not even about the topic at that point, it’s about proving their own superiority.

    I’ll take a stand on my beliefs, but I’m open to discussion and lots of times the opposite side had valid points, even if I don’t come all the way around to their way of thinking. I could still learn something.

  4. January 23, 2014 at 9:27 am

    I get weary when discussing something with someone who clearly just wants to change my mind. It’s usually with someone under age 3 who lives in my house.

  5. January 23, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    I think we get way too distracted arguing like this. That’s one of things I love about hope I have in Jesus. I really don’t feel the need to “prove” my point. He’s done a work inside me and that’s proof enough. It’s not my job to argue. Good reminder, Larry

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

