Home > Christianity, Faith > Fame Is Fleeting

Fame Is Fleeting

Recently I was in a store near my home.  We were on our way somewhere after church, so we stopped in for a drink and a snack until  we ate lunch later.  I turned and saw this picture in the magazine rack:

134

You can’t go anywhere without seeing or hearing something about Duck Dynasty.  I have’t been to Walmart in a while at the time I’m writing this, but I’m sure there is plenty of Duck Dynasty merchandise.  My employer is a sponsor of their show, so we see and hear plenty about them.  A couple of the Robertson clan came to our area to speak a few weeks ago.  I believe they even had a Christmas CD this year.  Of course, the greatest measure of their popularity is making the cover of Mad.  That really means you’ve made it.

Guess what?

In five years, few of us will be talking about Duck Dynasty.  More than likely, their show will be off the air by then.  They will have made their money during this phase of their life and they will be back to simply making money from their duck calls and such.  Everyone will have moved on to the next big thing.

I’ve seen a bit of this first hand.  The CBS show, Christy, filmed about 300 yards from my house.  There used to be a lot of people who would drive by to get a look at the sets.  That number grows less and less as the years between now and when the show aired.

I’ve learned something watching both of these phenomenon play out.  I suppose I’ve seen it in other things as well, but just didn’t realize it.

Fame is fleeting.

Life is just a vapor.  At least that’s what James tells us in the Bible.  As I get older I realize that more and more.  The days of our lives are, like MacDonald Carey used to say, like sands through the hourglass.  And if you don’t know who MacDonald Carey is, well, I’ve sort of proved my point.

We can chase fame in many ways.  It may be local, national or international fame.  It’s easier these days to chase fame.  You can gain follower after followers on Twitter.  You can go viral with a tweet or a video.  You might gain many readers of your blog.

It can all go away in a flash.

So, what do we do?

It’s fine to try reach people.  If your Twitter base grows, that’s fine.  If more people follow your blog, that’s awesome.

But if we’re trying to make ourselves famous instead of the One whose fame will always exceed ours, we might be chasing the wrong thing.

If we believe what the Bible says, then we should be about making His name famous.  If we happen to become known for that, then that’s cool.  At least our notoriety will be tied to something eternal.

We just can’t seek our fame instead of His.

After all, fame is fleeting.

Have you ever gotten caught up in chasing fame?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. January 27, 2014 at 5:46 am

    Can’t say that I have since I have never felt i was a person who could be famous. There were times, like when I played basketball, I wanted to be known, but not to the point of wanting to be famous. Loved your analogy today Larry.

  2. January 27, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    It’s easier to get caught up in it with being a blogger. You feel like one tweet that gets retweeted by someone big might be your big shot. One blog post that gets liked might be the post that goes viral. I don’t think I’ve got caught up in it but I’ve come close to wanting to be caught up in it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

