Home > Christianity, Faith > The Industry Of Christianity

The Industry Of Christianity

Recently I was talking to a friend of mine.  This person has some ties to Christian performing.  We talked about this for a while and, while I was astonished, I was saddened by what I heard.

I heard tales of how the people performing didn’t really live any sort of lifestyle for Christ.  Basically the performers treat their jobs as being entertainers for Christians.  They know the lingo, how to talk the talk and walk the walk in public.

One night some folks I know went to see one of the performers we discussed.  Following our conversation, I had some serious misgivings about whether I should say anything to them or not.  Evidently it is well-known in the Christian industry that this person leads a lifestyle that would have curled the hair of my friends.  I held off due to the fact that I couldn’t really verify it with firsthand information.

As I thought about it for a while, there was one thing that bothered me more than anything.  We have made an industry of Christianity.

I can go to a certain store and buy my Christian books, magazines and music.  I can also get Christian art and calendars.  Plus, lest I forget, there is also my Christian movies and exercise videos.

Just up the street I can go buy my Christian jeans and shoes and who knows what.  I don’t go there because my jeans come from San Francisco.

I hate the fact that we have, in some ways, become just another alternative market.  Further evidence?  We have our own t-shirts and breath mints that witness for us.

Each year, we who follow Christ are becoming the minority in this nation.  We’re going to have start taking the attitude of being missionaries.  Otherwise, other countries are going to begin sending missionaries here to us.  For all any of us know, they already are.

Christianity is going to have to be more than an industry.  It’s going to have to be a true walk of faith in our lives.

Do you ever shake your head about the Christian industry?

  1. January 28, 2014 at 5:47 am

    Most definitely I shake my head. We have, as you have stated, started our own subculture. What bothers me more is not the subculture but the lack of sincerity and integrity shown by those involved in it.

  2. January 28, 2014 at 6:06 am

    I hate to say it, but I’m afraid some of our churches are turning into a commercial operation also. It is no longer a place of worship, it is a center of entertainment all in the name of bringing in more people. The greed is being written on the walls.

    One minister says it is to attract the younger generation, but he is losing the older folks because of it. Missions are very big in this church, but only to the aspect of raising money to send him and others around the world to missions outside our local mission field.

  3. January 28, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    Shaking my head almost daily – but I don’t see anyone flipping tables over in the coffee shops and media centers. Of course it is an industry. Baaaa…

    • January 30, 2014 at 8:19 pm

      I need a whip….

      • January 30, 2014 at 8:27 pm

        …and a chair and a sidearm, because remember, it is primarily an entertainment industry.

      • February 4, 2014 at 9:16 pm

        🙂

  4. January 28, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    YES! I love the quote, “Christian is a great noun and a pour adjective.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

