Home > Christianity, Faith > Who Wants To Be Normal Anyway?

Who Wants To Be Normal Anyway?

I listened to a podcast not too long ago.  It was People I Almost Know by my friend, Michelle Moran, which I had the privilege of appearing on back last fall.

She interviewed J.R. Forasteros.  Besides his expertise on pop culture, he is also well-known for his tattoos.  It was fascinating to hear them discuss all of the tattoos he has accumulated over the years.

To be honest, I’m still not entirely comfortable with lots of tattoos.  I know it has to do with how I was raised and my age and stuff.  I don’t think it’s immoral or anything.  I think it comes down to the fact that deep within my mind I’m thinking, “It’s just not normal.”  I quickly add the following thought”

Who wants to be normal anyway?

By rule, we who follow Christ should automatically be disqualified from the ranks of the normal.  At least, that is, if the world is considered normal.

It doesn’t have to be tattoos like J.R.

In fact, that is probably just normal for him.  What makes him to be not normal is something that lives within him.  Or rather someone.

Think about that for a minute.  Christ lives within us, inspiring us to live lifestyles that cannot be considered normal to the world.

Look at the life that Jesus Himself lived.  He wasn’t considered normal by the establishment.  He was hanging with the outcasts, the freaks, the “tattooed.”

Let’s face it.  According to the Pharisees and the Sadducees, Jesus was hanging out with the freaks.

The world, more and more, thinks we are freaks.

Let’s not disappoint them.

I don’t mean that all of us need to get tattoos.  I think J.R. is able to reach some people who many of us can’t.

But so can you and I.

How do we do that?

One way is what I said in a tweet back in November.

It seems too many of us who claim Christ let the world affect our beliefs and actions, rather than the other way around.

That has nothing to do with tattoos.  It has everything to do with living out the faith we claim to follow.

Let’s get busy living as Christ has called us to.  Let’s get busy not being normal.

Are you normal?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. January 30, 2014 at 1:08 am

    Decidedly not normal in many ways. Folks with tattoos? Stained glass windows.

  2. leebaileyseiler
    January 30, 2014 at 1:24 am

    I have just stumbled across you and I’m intrigued. I may stick around a while and learn a thing or two. I am habitually abnormal. I came to my place of connection (or re-connection) with Christ a little over a year ago. I am considered abnormal now by some; my own sons included, because of my faith and the way I “display” it as they say. Before, I was abnormal because of my fear, alcohol abuse and separateness. I was asked the other day in a job interview if I was overwhelmed by anything. The only answer I could come up with was God’s love. I simply can’t comprehend the love for someone as normal and abnormal as me.
    Thank you so much for writing. What if everyone shared their gifts like you – what a dream.

    • January 30, 2014 at 8:06 pm

      Thanks for stopping by and reading….and commenting. I look forward to you becoming part of the group.

  3. January 30, 2014 at 5:59 am

    I’m normal although I know some who may call that into question. 🙂 When it comes to following Jesus, I do not want status quo.

  4. January 30, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    I am normal and abnormal too, depending on the subject, haha. God is – like in the past week! – really opening my heart and eyes about a lot of things, about myself and how I live my life and how I relate to him. Of course, he would have done this a lot sooner if I’d have let him. I was so cemented into the thinking that **I** could or could not achieve what I wanted. That I was successful or a loser, depending on whether or not I had the will or motivation or drive to change myself. I think that’s pretty normal thinking – world normal, I mean. Finally I lived – not just believed, but acted on – the understanding that it’s not I, but he. This is just one of many lessons he keeps teaching me. That’s pretty cool.

    I’m glad the podcast was thought-provoking. That’s pretty cool, too!

    • January 30, 2014 at 8:04 pm

      The podcast always makes me think. All of that sounds exciting.

      • January 30, 2014 at 11:32 pm

        I don’t know Larry, every day I have to remind myself to let go all over again. I cling to my sense of control, even though I know how awesome and freeing it feels when I let God take control. Letting go in certain areas of my life has led to such reduced stress and anxiety. But it’s like a step by step process as I work through other areas of my life and I have to practice over and over to relinquish control. It’s not easy at all. But at least I’m aware and not just muddling through on my own like I used to. Sometimes I feel super abnormal, haha.

      • February 4, 2014 at 9:16 pm

        Normal is overrated

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

