Home > Christianity, Faith > The Spiritual Benefit Of Rest

The Spiritual Benefit Of Rest

I wake up every morning at just about the same time.  I begin to wake up and lie there for a what seems like forever.  I finally get up and look at my phone to see what time it is.  I am out of bed, heading to the family room around 4:45.

It rarely makes any difference what time I go to bed.  Every day plays out about the same.  Sometimes there’s some variety.  As I write this, last night I fell asleep early on the couch.  I went to bed and woke up at 3:00 a.m.

When this really bugs me the most is on the days I have off.  Whether it’s the weekend or a holiday, it doesn’t make much difference.  I might sleep an extra hour, but I never sleep late.

Sometimes I wonder what kind of toll this takes on me.  There are physical consequences to not getting enough sleep.  There is an emotional toll that a lack of sleep takes on you.  But there’s more.  Much more.

There has to be spiritual issues to not getting proper rest too.

I’m not sure that I can prove that, but I think Elijah is good example of it.

After he had a big showdown with Baal’s prophets, Elijah had to flee.  By the time he stopped, he seemed to be exhausted.  He laid down and slept until an angel woke him up.  Then he woke up and had a meal.

It seems that he was stressed out and what he needed most of all was a good night’s sleep.

What gave him the most spiritual benefit was rest.

I imagine that this is often what we need most as well.  When we feel like we’re at the end of our rope, when we feel like we’re losing our religion, we might just need a good nap.  Preferably under a shade tree.  Follow that up with a nice big sandwich and a cold drink and we might be re-energized and ready to meet with the Lord.

There is a spiritual benefit of rest that we could all use.

Have you ever needed the spiritual benefit of rest?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. jonstolpe
    January 31, 2014 at 11:22 am

    Yes!

    In a post I wrote earlier this week about busy weeks, I stressed the importance of practicing regular sabbaths (1 minute per hour, 1 hour per day, 1 day per week, …) This is a great way to REST.

  2. robshep
    January 31, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    Yes! I’ve been waking up at 4 ish all week and it’s killing me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

