Home > Blogging, Faith > 5 Ways Writing Has Become Real For Me

5 Ways Writing Has Become Real For Me

I’ve been blogging for over five years now.  It’s been an interesting experience.  At first I wouldn’t have called myself a blogger.  After a while, I finally began calling myself a blogger, but I wouldn’t dare call myself a writer.  Now, I’m working on an eBook and I finally admit to myself and others that I’m a writer.

I’m bearing down on 1000 blog posts for this blog.  This means that I’ve written somewhere in the neighborhood of around 1300 total blog posts.  I’ve learned a bit during that time.  Writing has made a few things real for me that I have read about.

1.  You have to Overcome the resistance.  A few people have commented how I have consistent writing my blog over the years.  If they only knew. It’s been tough.  I have sometimes worn myself out trying to do this.  I didn’t leave myself any margin.  I would try, but there would be days I didn’t feel like writing and I wouldn’t.  What little bit of margin I had would be eaten up.  Lately, I’ve fought this.  Currently, I’m about 50 blog posts ahead.  How did I do that?  The Resistance was still there.  I just blew through it.

2.  Inspiration means nothing without work.  I get ideas all of the time.  Normally, I get a handful of ideas each day.  A recent Sunday at church found me coming home with ten ideas to write about.  That was unusual, but it proves my point.  Nothing will happen until I actually sit down to write them.  Will they all work?  Probably not.  The point is, though, that those ideas mean nothing until I actually sit down and do the work.  You can’t wait to be inspired to write.

3.  Muse, schmuse.  Is there a muse out there?  I don’t know.  If So, my muse is the Lord.  I do know this.  Your muse won’t make it happen.  Your muse won’t work for you.  Obviously, this one is tied to inspiration, but if you have a muse, it won’t do anything for you.  It won’t sit down and do the work for you.

4.  Make it Personal.  Recently I read a blog post by Jeff Goins.  He stated that you need to put yourself in your writing.  You need to tell your story.  I’m just beginning to figure this out.

5.  Include others.  When you write a blog for a while, you will form a tribe.  It doesn’t matter what size it is, people will be interested in what you have to say.  You have a couple of choices.  You just write your little blog, hit publish and ignore anyone who stops by to say hi.  Or you can engage with your audience.  Including others will make the process more fun.

Many of you write blogs as well.  You may have encountered the same things that I have.  I would be interested in what you have learned while blogging.

How has writing become real for you?

  1. February 2, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    Love this

    • February 4, 2014 at 9:15 pm

      Thanks!!!

      • February 4, 2014 at 9:16 pm

        Your very welcome . I would love if you could check out some of my blogs and comment what you think . It would greatly be appreciated

  2. February 2, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    You’re absolutely right about the muse — writing brings the muse, not the other way around. Great post!

  3. February 3, 2014 at 5:00 am

    Well said Larry. I started in February of 2008 so I just celebrated 6 years (if my math is correct and that is suspect). I certainly can’t argue with anything you have written here (except I almost always write from day to day not 50 posts ahead). Yikes! I’m a slacker.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

