Home > Christianity, Faith > The Gospel Plow

The Gospel Plow

Back in 2004 through 2006 or so, I took mandolin lessons.  If you don’t know what a mandolin is, it is a small stringed instrument that is one of the tools used to play Bluegrass music.  I’ve said it before that I took lessons long enough to go from being absolutely awful to just plain bad.

My mandolin

My mandolin

My teacher was a fellow by the name of Roscoe Morgan.  Besides being a teacher and player of multiple instruments, he is a world-class mandolin player.

My family and I went to see the group Roscoe was part of at that time on several occasions.  Few shows were exactly the same.  Sometimes Roscoe would take a total solo of one particular song.

It was called The Gospel Plow.  Surprisingly, it is a song written by Bob Dylan.

This song reminds me of a verse from the Bible, Luke 9:62.

And Jesus said to him, “No one , after putting his hand to the plow and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.

There are a couple of things I notice about what Jesus says here.

First, he says that people who put their hand to the plow is fit for the kingdom of God.  I don’t know if you’ve ever plowed.  I haven’t really.  At least, I haven’t the way Jesus is describing.  The kind of plowing Jesus is describing is hard work.  It’s following a team of oxen or donkeys who are pulling the plow while you guide it.  You are working to keep the team pulling together to break the ground.

Next, if you put your hand to the plow and look back, you aren’t fit for the kingdom.  I can’t imagine looking backwards while trying to plow.  There is no way you could plow a straight line.  You can’t focus on the team or the direction the plow is being pulled.

Finally, we need to look at the plow itself.  Sometimes, it seems, we get this out of whack.  Too many of us think the plow is politics.  Maybe it’s some cause in the culture that we think will change people.  Too often, we just plain get it wrong.  The plow is the gospel.  It is the instrument of our message.  The gospel is what can change people.  Nothing else, no other message that we can proclaim.

Let’s put our hands to the gospel plow.  Let’s keep our eyes looking forward.  Let’s not look back making ourselves unfit for the kingdom.

Are your hands on the gospel plow?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. February 4, 2014 at 4:51 am

    As an experiment I tried cutting grass once looking backwards. it didn’t work.

  2. February 4, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    Modern Christianity often dwells on the soft words of Jesus, but seldom delivers such a bold message as this. Jesus DID say it, and it IS black and white, not grey. “No one ,after putting his hand to the plow and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God”. I find this very sobering, and I feel a move spiritually that ALL who ever knew Him are being called in these last days to “do the first works”. Those who never knew Him are facing more obstacles and more improbability of EVER knowing Him than at any other time in recent centuries of history.Time is indeed short.

  3. February 4, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    That’s cool. I want Stephen Haggerty to pick this one up next. He’s gotten pretty good at the banjo. I love it when he leads worship using it.

  4. February 4, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    My hands are on the gospel plow and I am not looking back. Nothing better then bluegrass gospel in my book.

    • February 4, 2014 at 5:49 pm

      P.S. wanted to add Roscoe does my favorite gospel song, Can’t Even Walk Without You Holding My Hand and O’ Death. Are you familiar with Rhonda Vincent? Another great blue grass singer and picker.

      • February 4, 2014 at 9:12 pm

        Not sure, but yes, I know Rhonda Vincent

    • February 4, 2014 at 9:12 pm

      Awesome

  5. February 8, 2014 at 9:27 am

    Awesome. Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

