Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > The Post That Got Away

The Post That Got Away

I get ideas for blog posts and tweets all of the time.  Last Sunday, as I write this, I jotted down thoughts throughout the church service.  I’m not sure that’s ok, but I keep a pad in my Bible so that I can capture them.  Later, I will try to turn them into something someone might want to read.

Sometimes, I’m not so good at capturing them.  Jan and I left work the other day.  I had an idea, but we were talking on the way to the grocery store.  I thought that I would write it down when I dropped her off and parked.  Little did I know that idea would be gone by the time I had a chance to capture it.

That’s where this post came from.  I had an idea.  It was a good idea.  I was really excited about it.  I just knew that it would turn out to be one of the best things I had ever written.

Then, poof, it was gone.

Eventually, that idea came back.  Something jogged my memory.  I remembered what it was I wanted to write about.  I was able to post it.  Quite honestly, at this point I don’t even remember which one it was.

So, like they say sometimes at work, what can we learn from this?

Some of you have been following this blog for some time.  Which posts do you remember?  I don’t say that to put you on the spot.  We’re within fifty posts of one thousand.  Which of those do any of us really remember?

This entire idea of blogging could go away at any time.  I’ve been blogging for just over five years now.  I began when I was forty.  Most of my life has not involved blogging.  It could again, depending on the circumstances.  Hopefully, it is not temporary, but it is quite possible.

Tomorrow could be just like this blog post I’ve discussed.  We aren’t guaranteed tomorrow.  Life is just a vapor.  All of us might not be here tomorrow.  Just like the post, we could be the one that go away.  We could be summoned home.

All of this life we lead is, ultimately, temporary.  Just like any thought.  Any idea.

We need to do our best to capture it while we can.  Grab hold of it and don’t let go.  Hold on to the one thing we know is eternal.  Hold to God’s hand, His unchanging hand.  Put your hope on things eternal. (Yes, those are lyrics to the Gospel song, God’s Unchanging Hand.)

Have you ever lost a thought or idea that you wish you could have captured?  What are you hanging on to?

  1. February 4, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    Yes, I have lost so many good thoughts…hummmmmmmm….I knew there was something else I wanted to say, let me look…no it’s not there….no it wasn’t that either. What can I say, a senior moment???????

  2. February 4, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    It happens to me all the time. So many ideas come in and out of this head of mine. I need to come up with a better method of recording these thoughts.

    • February 6, 2014 at 4:51 am

      I text myself…..have other people text me….it’s tough

  3. February 5, 2014 at 3:29 pm

    All. The. Time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

