Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Evel Knievel, Black Monday, And A Party For Jesus

Evel Knievel, Black Monday, And A Party For Jesus

The only up birthday party I remember growing was for my fifth birthday.  There were birthday gatherings of some relatives, but nothing like when I turned five.

I had  a few friends come over, though I didn’t have many.  Even at that age, I was a bit shy and found it hard to make friends.  Compound that with the fact that there were about three houses between ours and the three miles to the main highway, I didn’t have a chance to become friends with many kids.

My hero was Evel Knievel.  The influence he would play on my young life is a story for another post.  Suffice to say, I thought it would be wonderful if I could fly through the air on my bicycle.

Needless to say, this was my favorite toy in the world.  Who wouldn’t love their very own Evel Knievel Stunt Cycle?

evel-knievel-stunt-cycle

The one friend that I remember for certain being at my birthday party was Lisa Farmer.  Lisa had long blonde hair, which didn’t go well with the crank.  It became tangle up inside and there was real fear that her hair would have to be cut to release her from the firm grip of Evel Knievel.  Fortunately, that measure didn’t have to be taken.

The party resumed and Pin The Tail On The Donkey was played and Evel sailed down the stairs to the basement a few times.  Cake and ice cream was consumed.  All in all, it was a great day.

*****

I turned eighteen while I was a freshman in college.  Google will remind you, as it did me, that the stock market plunged that day.  It is referred to as Black Monday, but I didn’t have any money in the stock market.  Heck, I barely had any money.  It really didn’t mean anything to me.

My friend Nancy Rinehart asked me if I had any plans.  She wanted to gather a few of us together that evening.  Later on I found out that she was planning a surprise birthday party for me.  I had plans, though, so I wasn’t able to have the second birthday party of my life.

What did I do for my eighteenth birthday party?  I spent the evening in the upper rafters of Thompson-Boling Arena in Knoxville, TN watching the Chicago Bulls and Michael Jordan play an exhibition against the Seattle Supersonics, led by former Vol Dale Ellis.  Not a bad way to spend my birthday.

*****

A few weeks ago we celebrated the birth of Jesus.  The celebration of His birth has been turned into a season of shopping, parties, and gift-giving.  None of that is bad, but it isn’t all good either.

The thing is, Jesus didn’t ask or tell us to put much emphasis on his birth.  Don’t get me wrong.  Christmas is season I love and look forward to every year.

But Jesus basically told us to remember what He did.  He gave us some things to do in remembrance of Him.

You and I gather together in a big group each week.  We sing.  We share.  We listen.  We worship.

Let’s call it what it is.  It’s a party for Jesus.

For too long I thought it was a somber time, one where I had to be quiet, wear the right clothes, and put on the right face.

How about we start acting more like David when he brought the Ark to Jerusalem than like we’re at a funeral.

Let’s party for Jesus.

How is church service?  Is it respectful or is it a party?

  1. February 18, 2014 at 5:46 am

    I think ours is a respectful party.

  2. February 18, 2014 at 10:08 am

    I hope ours is a mixture of both. I want it to be a celebration of hope and even be fun. Gasp. I also want it to be somber at times and have moments of reflection and reverence.

  3. March 18, 2014 at 11:17 am

    I loved that toy when I was a kid.

    • March 18, 2014 at 11:20 am

      It was my favorite.

      • March 18, 2014 at 11:22 am

        I found it over Christmas and spent longer than I should trying to get him to jump from the table to the sofa.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

