Home > Blogging > What Is Your Passion?

What Is Your Passion?

I’ve written before about my friend, Roscoe Morgan.  He’s a world-class mandolin player.  He was also my mandolin teacher for a time that I took lessons.

When he was young, Roscoe would play for hours upon hours, neglecting almost everything else.  He would often even forget to eat.

Looking back at my time playing the mandolin, I realize that I didn’t have what Roscoe had when it comes to the mandolin.  I’m not talking about talent, though that is certainly the case.

I didn’t have the same dream when it came to playing.  I didn’t have the same calling.  I didn’t have the passion.

No, I’m not distinguishing between those three.

Jeff Goins wrote about his friend, Shane, in his book, The In-Between.  Shane was a guitar player in the same band as Jeff at one time.  Jeff also played guitar?  What was the difference between them?  Shane practiced constantly, crawling in the back of the van and playing scales while they drove down the road.

What are guys like Shane and Roscoe willing to do to pursue their dream, their call, their passion?

They take so much delight in what they are doing that they are willing to give up other things and limit themselves in pursuit of the dream.

What they’ve realized, even if it’s subconsciously, is that they cannot be a jack of all trades, master of none.  They have decided to forego a lot of things in order to master their passion.

Jeff Goins decided he would be a writer.  He wouldn’t just say that he wrote things.

Rosco Morgan decided he would be a mandolin player.  He wouldn’t just play the mandolin.

Shane decided he would be a guitar player.  He wouldn’t just play the guitar.

These men decided that they would go all in  for what they were called to do.

What’s your dream?  What’s your call?  What’s your passion?

Have you sold out to it?  Are you pursuing it with everything?  Would you give up eating to spend a little extra time doing it?

I believe that we are all called to something that will grab our passion this way.  We may not have discovered it yet.  That doesn’t mean that it isn’t out there waiting for us.

It may take some time.  You may have to throw several things against the wall to see what will stick.  Keep throwing until you determine what it is.

Are you a jack of all trades, master of none?  Or have you figured out what your passion is?

 

  1. February 25, 2014 at 5:37 am

    That’s a good question Larry and I’m not sure I can answer it. How’s that for commitment? I am passionate about some things (like cycling and preaching and being a pastor) and love to do them, but I’m not sure I would “sell myself out” to either of them. I reckon that makes me jack-of-all-trades. Hmmm. Gonna have to think about this.

    • February 25, 2014 at 5:46 am

      I don’t particularly like my own answers, Bill.

  2. February 25, 2014 at 8:03 am

    Always a good topic, Larry. I know what my passion is I’m just not always clear how I’m supposed to apply it and live it out. Does that make sense? I’m trying not to let that paralyze me. I just pray God reveals all of that as I journey along.

  3. February 25, 2014 at 10:18 am

    I think that I’m more of a jack of some trades. I’m not great at fixing things but I there are lots of things that I’m good at. Drawing, rap, public speaking, falling asleep as soon as the clock hits 10:00 PM.

    • February 26, 2014 at 5:58 am

      I fell asleep just before 10 pm last night, Rob

  4. February 25, 2014 at 11:10 am

    I am passionate about being a good help mate first since I believe that is my calling. There was a period in my life God brought the passion of singing southern gospel in my life. Then I became passionate about taking the gospel to the lost in remote places. I would say that passion cost me more then any other one. My husband and I gave up more then at any time in our life, no regrets. Now I am drawing on those things God taught me through those passion in coming along side of women needing an older woman in their life. With passion it’s one day at a time because life circumstances can change our passion. Since God never changes we can spend our passion on the pursuit of Him. Good thoughts brother.

  5. February 25, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    I’m passionate about… books, technology, tinkering, making things work. I’ve given up sleep, time, etc. to fix things.

    • February 26, 2014 at 5:58 am

      I think we will give up sleep for what we are passionate about.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

