Home > Christianity, Faith > And A Painter Paints

And A Painter Paints

It is early morning as I write this.  I’ve been up for a while now, but the sun has yet to come up over the mountain, nor shine through the back windows of our home.

Everyone else is still asleep.  It’s our day off, though Lauren has to go to her part-time job a little later today.  I got up at the same time as any other normal day.  I tell people this sometimes and they shake their heads.  They don’t understand, and truth be told, I don’t fully understand it either.

For one thing, I wake up at the same time everyday.  Once I do, I can’t go back to sleep.  My mind begins to move, to work.  I think about everything I want to do, everything I want to write.

The question, if I wanted to ask it, might be what makes a writer write.  What makes someone want to do this so much that they would rather put their fingers to the keyboard more than almost anything else, definitely more than sleep.

What makes a writer write?  Or a painter paint?  A musician to play?  I think that is the common thread with artists and creatives.  There is something deep within them that causes them to want to produce their work more than almost anything else.  They feel more alive when they are creating their art than when they are doing almost anything else.

I’ll let you in on something.  When I do this, when I get up early before anyone else, when it’s just my keyboard and me, there is another important element that joins me.  It’s the Lord.  This becomes an act of worship that is difficult to describe to anyone who doesn’t experience something similar.

The painter understands.  The musician gets it.  I even know some deer hunters that empathize with what I am describing.  When a person practices the craft they are called to do, they feel as alive as they ever have in the midst of producing their art.

Maybe you get it.  You’re a gardener.  Digging in the earth releases something deep within in you, an act of worship that is as powerful as any other act of holiness of which you are a part.

You like to fly fish?  You practice your cast over and over.  You can instinctively see the deep pools where the trout hides waiting for your fly to strike.  And when you catch your day’s limit of fish, you bless the Lord for what He has given.

I don’t know what you are called to do.  I just believe that there is something that summons you, something so strong you will neglect, no have to neglect, many other things just so that you can do it.  So that you can worship in your own unique way before the Lord.

I encourage you to find it.  You may have to throw a lot of spaghetti on the wall to see what sticks.  Once you do you will wonder how you ever were able to get by without it.  That’s why I get up early to write.

And a painter paints.

What makes you feel alive more than anything?

  1. February 27, 2014 at 8:18 am

    I, too, am an early morning person. I like to get up and spend time alone. It helps me start my day off. What makes me alive? I love Jesus. I love my family. I love my job. I love cycling. I love life. I try to look every day for something to be taken by surprise by.

  2. February 27, 2014 at 10:58 am

    Preaching does this for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

