Home > Christianity, Faith > Have You Heard God Whisper?

Have You Heard God Whisper?

Have you ever heard God whisper?

I normally have some noise going on in my life.  It might be something
like music when I sit down to write.  From November 1 until December 25, Christmas music was my poison of choice.

When I drive to work, or pretty much anywhere else, I have sports talk on the radio.  I listen to folks talk about my particular college team of choice on the way to work and on the way home.

I bet you do too.  Not necessarily listen to the same radio station that I listen to or the same musical choices.  But I bet that you have similar background noise.

So, how do you hear God whisper?

You have to turn the noise off sometimes.

Sometimes the Lord is loud.  I hear Him speak in sermons and songs.  I had heard Him speak in graffiti and Godspell.  He has spoken as I’ve watched folks dance for the Lord.

Yet, when I want to hear Him speak intimately just to me, I have to turn the sound down.  Those things He tends to say softly.

*****

I had a spell the other day.  That’s the only way I know to describe it.  I was praying.  You know, just normal praying.  It felt, though, like I was just going through the motions.  I began to beg and plead with the Lord that He would reply.  I wanted to know that my prayer was not in vain.

I didn’t hear a booming voice.  His finger didn’t appear to write anything on the wall.  No angels appeared to bring a message from the throne room.

I got a whisper.  It was much like how a parent talks to a newborn when they rock them. Just a whisper.  Nothing really audible.  No incredible words that would give me a direction to go that day.

Just that whisper.

It was a enough, though.  It broke through what had been tough sledding of late.

How did I respond?

I wept.  I was overcome by the presence of the Lord.  It was unlike anything I have experienced before.

None of that makes me special.  I don’t mention this to brag.  I only say it for one reason.

Find time to turn something off.  Get alone.

Listen for God’s whisper.

Have you heard God whisper lately?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. Ricky Anderson
    February 28, 2014 at 7:32 am

    I’ve not really heard him whisper, but I have found reassurances and answers from Him through devotions or conversations with others.

    • February 28, 2014 at 7:33 am

      I might call those whispers….sometimes you have to be listening closely

  2. February 28, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    During the 3 years I spent in prison, I had a long time to listen to God talk to me. It was more like a smack in the head than a whisper, but he got my attention and I heard it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

