Home > Christianity, Faith > I Wonder What They Were Eating?

I Wonder What They Were Eating?

A I write this post, the movie Noah has not come out yet.  I haven’t seen it, though I have seen a trailer.  I will most likely check it out, though I usually hate movies based on stories from the Bible.  Hollywood likes to add a lot of things for dramatic effect that aren’t necessarily true or Biblical.

One of the things that has always stricken me about the Noah story is how ordinary it is.  God told Noah to build an ark and he did.  God gave Noah the dimensions and instructions, and he got busy.  He worked on that thing for one hundred years.

In the end, the rains came and water burst forth from the earth.  The whole world was flooded.  People died.  People who many of us would way were good people and good neighbors.  God said otherwise.

He said they were wicked.  They gave no thought to Him, or if they did it didn’t amount too much.

What were they doing?  How were they spending their time?  What did they do while Noah worked on a big boat for a century?  After they came over to check out Noah’s work, what did they return to?

Jesus clues us in.

They were eating, drinking, marrying and given in marriage.

In other words, they were living ordinary lives.  They were going about their business.  Their days were the same.

When they came out to see what Noah was doing and laugh at him, he was preaching them a message.

“What are you doing, Noah”

“I’m building an ark.’

“Why?”

“Because God told me He’s going to destroy the earth because of the wickedness on the earth.  Repent while you can.”

What did Noah hear from them?  Laughter and crickets.  No one repented.

After all, he had been working on that ark for a hundred years. Nothing had happened.  Nothing was going to happen.  Even if it was, they had time to repent.  Why mess a good thing up.

They had eating, drinking, marrying and giving in marriage to do.

When the flood came, I wonder what was happening?

I wonder what they were eating?

What do you think they were eating when the flood came?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , , , ,
  1. March 3, 2014 at 5:59 am

    Pizza and ice cream. This would be my choice.

  2. March 3, 2014 at 7:07 am

    I’d go with Jon’s choices also, but my guess is “what they always ate.”

  3. March 3, 2014 at 11:04 pm

    Chipotle.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

