Home > Christianity, Faith > Quit Being Subtle About It

Quit Being Subtle About It

A few months ago there was a rash of apartment fires in Knoxville.  By rash, I mean two or three is a month’s time.  It seemed highly unusual, and the pain each family faced was compounded by the fact that Christmastime was upon everyone.  Tragically, there was even death involved in one of them.

I don’t know about you, but the idea of dying due to fire especially terrifies me.  There are other ways I don’t want to go, but fire is near the top of the list.

A few years ago, Andrew and I were burning some boxes and other paper trash out in our driveway.  We live out in the country and can get away with that a little bit better than those of you who are city dwellers.

The fire got a little hot, a little too hot.  A piece of burning paper floated off and landed in the hayfield.  It was December or January, so the hay wasn’t growing yet, but it was dry.  A fire started in the field and quickly began growing.

Panic took over as I imagined a five acre field burning up or worse.  Armed with a tarp, a ten-year old boy and our dog’s water bucket, I set out to put the fire out.  I won the battle, but I was afraid that I wouldn’t for a bit.

A black circle was a reminder for a while of what might have happened and how fortunate we were.

I’m sure that some people drive by the apartments I mentioned and are reminded of the same thing.

One thing I feel confident in saying.  When the fires started, no one took their time telling others to get out.

No one is subtle about telling people to get out of a burning building.

I wasn’t subtle in telling my son what to do in helping me battle the field fire.

Why?  We don’t want anyone to die.  We don’t wish for danger to truly affect anyone.  And let’s be honest, we wouldn’t want anyone to subtly tell us about the danger around us.

So, subtleness is out the door and the window at this point.  You need to know something.

The wages of sin is death.  If you’re human, you have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.  You are slaves to sin.  You only have one way out.  The Way.

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe that He rose from the dead, you will be saved.

You need to be saved if you don’t know Him.

If you do know Him, you need to quit being subtle.  You need to pull the fire alarm.  You need to bang on doors and alert people to the danger they are in.

You need to arm yourself with everything you can to help put the fire out.

Quit being subtle about it. 

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. March 5, 2014 at 8:46 am

    Good point Larry. I think sometimes I am too subtle.

  2. March 5, 2014 at 8:49 am

    I got a message from my son’s teacher yesterday…one of my son’s classmates lost his home in a fire this week and they were taking food donations for the family. Good comparison.

  3. March 5, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    I know I’m too subtle. Thanks for the challenge.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

