Home > Christianity, Faith > Don’t Wait For Experience

Don’t Wait For Experience

Something we all need in our lives is experience.  Currently, I have almost a decade’s worth of experience in the division of my company at work.

Experience gives us the judgment we need to succeed and perform at highest level.  A saying captures much of what we understand about experience and judgment:

Good judgment comes from experience.  Experience comes from bad judgment.

It almost seems that many people don’t want to give someone a chance if they don’t have some experience.  My daughter tried to get a job a few months ago.  She was told to go get another job and work for a year to gain experience.  Once she had a year’s worth of experience, then this company would consider her.

Whatever good things I do on this blog is because of experience.  I began writing a few years ago.  I wrote badly.  I wrote badly often enough to gain the experience I needed.  Now, I don’t write as badly as I did five years ago when I started.

This is also the case in ministry.

Think about the reaction some give those who come to know Christ.  They are on fire, wanting to serve the Lord who just saved them.  They want to contribute to the building of the body of Christ.  Many are politely told to wait until they grow in the Lord and gain some experience.  Steven Taylor satirizes this thought in his song, I Want To Be A Clone.

So what should we do with new Christians?

We should include them in everything we do.

Do we need to make hospital visits?  We should take a new Christian with us.

Are we serving the homeless or those with wrecked lives?  A new Christian should be included.

Instead of throwing a wet blanket on those who are the most on fire of all of us, we should find a way to stoke their fire and make it burn even hotter.

Does experience matter?

Sure it does.  But let’s find ways to help those who have come to know Christ gain the experience they need in dealing with situations.  Maybe they and we will grow in Christ when we do.

Have you ever let waiting for experience keep you from actually experiencing?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. March 13, 2014 at 5:53 am

    I found this to be true in ministry. Before the age of 30 the pastor didn’t know enough or have enough experience for credibility. It seemed like after 30 he was suddenly mature and learned and credible. Since when did age give those? In my case, they were mostly true. lol. I’m still looking for maturity.

  2. March 13, 2014 at 10:18 am

    Yes. I think it goes with the I’ll pray about it mentality. Pray = wait. We should pray. But we should also take action.

  3. March 13, 2014 at 6:35 pm

    I’m thankful for the many people in my life who didn’t wait for me to have experience and instead gave me opportunity to minister as a young man. It’s hard to believe that they could sit there and listen as a barely 19 year old preached, but they did and I gained some valuable experience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

