Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Goldilocks, Three Bears And A Church Search

Goldilocks, Three Bears And A Church Search

You might recall a series of posts from a couple of years ago.  It was about our church search.  Each week for several weeks we visited a church and I would report back on it.

We visited a large church in the denomination we came from at the time.  It was much too far away for us to attend there.

We visited a church that I had my eye on for a long time in the event we were ever going to look for a church.  I loved the doctrine, but there was just something about it.  It just wasn’t right.

We visited a satellite campus of one of the largest church in our region.  The preaching was done by a DVD recording of the main campus’ service on Saturday night.  The music was just a bit too rock and roll for us.

We visited one of the premier churches in a city near us.  It was not what we wanted in a church either.

We landed at a friend’s church for a while.  It had its own issues, but ultimately the drive was too long.

We ended up at our current church and we love it.  It’s five minutes from home.  It’s where we fit.

*****

During the time that we were looking for a church, I told a buddy that I felt a bit like a free agent.  I jokingly said that the church that gave me the best deal would be the one that got me.

We were talking the other day about church.  He isn’t one hundred percent satisfied with his current situation, but like I was before we left our old church, he feels like he can’t leave.

He reminded me of the conversation we had and said that for a just a little while, he would like to be a free agent.

*****

I wonder if the way we approach finding a church is much like Goldilocks.  You know the story.

She enters the house.  She sits down in one chair and it’s too hard.  Another, it’s too soft.  Another was just right, but she broke it.

Then she found the porridge.  She took a bit from one bowl, and it was too hot.  She took a bite from another bowl, and it was too cold.  She found another bowl that was just right and she ate it all.

Then she went upstairs.  She laid down in one bed and it was too hard.  Another was too soft.  Then she laid down in the final bed, and it was just right.

That’s where the bears found her and frightened her away.

I feel that’s what we did in our church search.  This one was not right, nor the other or the next one.  Finally, we found one that was just right.

I’m not sure that this is the best way to go about a church search, but I don’t really know another way.  I do know that I didn’t really like being a free agent. Thankfully, that part of our lives has come and gone.

Have you ever gone through a church search?  How did you go about it?

  1. March 14, 2014 at 6:29 am

    I’ve equated the feeling of leaving a church much like getting a divorce. Whether that’s right or wrong, It’s painful to me. I want to be darn sure I’m doing it for the right motives. I think some times we are too quick to disagree with something and the better option is to try to reconcile…but sometimes it’s just not possible and it’s time to move on. I don’t think any church we find is “perfect” cause their filled with flawed people! When I went looking for a church recently when we moved to Georgia it was different than when I found one in NC. In NC I knew immediately I was “home” This time it’s taking time to feel at home.

    • March 17, 2014 at 9:27 am

      That’s a great point, Eileen. That’s about the way it felt when we left our previous church. Divorce.

  2. March 14, 2014 at 6:30 am

    oops “they’re” filled. Sorry early 🙂

  3. March 15, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    We moved to Southern California two years ago and have just in the last few months found a church that give us the solid preaching we like. It’s was hard to find one…that challenged us. We are getting involved slowly but surely.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

