Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Writing Blog Posts Is Worship

Writing Blog Posts Is Worship

I wrote a post back at the end of 2013 where I asked the question, “What do you want to know?”

One of the questions someone posed was how I have so many ideas to write about.  Obviously, that question has turned into another post.

My short answer is that the more I write, the more ideas I have.  I don’t know how to explain that, but it’s true.  It’s kind of like getting a water pump going.  You have to prime the pump, but once the water starts flowing, it flows easily.

I used to think it was good if I had a couple of good ideas a week.  I would think about those couple of ideas throughout the week.  Then on the weekend, I would sit down to write.  I would write two blog posts and post them immediately.

Then I began an experiment where I wrote everyday.  I would open up my laptop and just write a post.  I would publish it and repeat that the next morning.  Honestly, that stressed me out.

Then I actually began jotting down my ideas in a book.  I would try to capture my thoughts as quickly as possible.  That was good, but my process continued to improve.

I began to write my idea on one sheet in my notebook.  I began getting more and more.  Where did they come from?  Questions I had.  Experiences I was going through.  I would roughly outline many of these ideas until I was ready to write them.

Then I began to pray about them.  I tried to let them sprout and grow.  I thought that the Holy Spirit would be able to put better fertilizer on them than I could.

I quit waiting to be inspired.  I grabbed ideas and worked on them.  I put some blood, sweat and tears into them.  I realized that I couldn’t just live off some sort of muse.

So, I write.  Oftentimes, I write when I don’t really feel like it.  I definitely don’t feel inspired.  I just write.  And write.  And write.

That’s how I get ideas and write posts.  I treat it a bit like a job.  Do I worry that I will run out of ideas?  Maybe.  But I often sit there in church, worshipping, with ideas flowing through my head.  That’s why I stick paper in my Bible now.  I feel like capturing my thoughts and ideas is a form of worship now.

Am I afraid this will end?  Am I afraid that worship will end?

Writing blog posts is worship.

What do you do that is worship?

  1. March 17, 2014 at 5:28 am

    Kinda hard for me to do what you do- have paper in my Bible and write ideas down as the pastor speaks. 🙂 however, I believe worship is 24/7 so I want all my life to be worship, even my cycling.

    • March 17, 2014 at 9:25 am

      Bill, I can just see you stopping in the middle of a sermon and telling your folks that you had to capture an idea.

  2. March 17, 2014 at 7:26 am

    I write ideas down all the time. I feel similar to you. I blog 5 days a week whether I have ideas or not.

  3. March 17, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    Probably reading more then writing is how I worship…which is why I don’t post often. Glad it works for you though.

  4. March 17, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    Writing is definitely worship.

    My job can be worship when I have the right perspective.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

