Home > Christianity, Faith > I Blame It On Farrah Fawcett

I Blame It On Farrah Fawcett

I blame it on Farrah Fawcett.

I know that other women were sex symbols before her, but she was the first that I remember in my life.

It was 1976, about a year after my sister was born.  Charlie’s Angels was taking the world by storm, three women portraying strong female characters on the television set in millions of homes around the country.

None was more popular than Farrah Fawcett.  She became an industry all by herself.  She was on talk shows, posters and t-shirts.  According to the legends handed down through the years, my father-in-law had a Farrah Fawcett t-shirt that he liked to wear.

I remember the moment vividly.  We were sitting in our den at home watching the show.  Both of my parents were sitting there with me as I was quickly approaching the age of eight.  That’s when these words left my mouth:

“Farrah’s the prettiest woman in the world, isn’t she?”

My words were directed to my dad.  With much wisdom, he told me that my mother, who was sitting beside me, was the most beautiful woman the world had ever seen.

The question we need to answer at this point is what do I blame on the late Ms. Fawcett?

I’m going to let you in on a secret.  I’m a guy.  I’m a normal guy who struggles with the same things that most guys struggle with.

David struggled with it and gave in to it when he spied on Bathsheba and summoned her to his house.  He was a man after God’s own heart.  That is no excuse for what goes on in the minds of us men.

There’s only one way to fight the fight I’m talking about.  Depend on the Lord and give it all I’ve got to fight it.  Those are the only two things within my control.

I can’t control anything else.

I’ll give it 100%.  That won’t be enough.  I’ll need 100% of the Spirit as well.

If I fail, I’ll blame it on Farrah Fawcett.  No, not really.  To quote an old song, “It’s nobody’s fault but mine.”

What’s the best way to fight the Farrah Fawcett situation?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. March 18, 2014 at 8:22 am

    You’re asking me, who at 61 still fights it?

  2. March 18, 2014 at 11:51 am

    It is like Pringles laced in crack. We think we can handle a little taste but a little just makes us want more. We’ve got to go hardcore. We’ve got to hate, fight against it, and outsmart it.

  3. March 20, 2014 at 3:39 am

    Hey hey she was more than just a sex symbol…..she didn’t want to be known for just that, she did have serious acting roles! (The Burning Bed, Extremities, Small Sacrifices, and others).

    • March 20, 2014 at 5:24 am

      First, thank you so much for stopping by and reading. I hope, though, that the point of this post was not really Farrah Fawcett. The point was that there is a battle that almost all men face. She was just the way to introduce that subject.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

