Home > Christianity, Faith > Motion Causes Friction

Motion Causes Friction

I went out for a run recently.  I had a bit of a layoff with my running, but wanted to get back to it.  It was tough to get going for some reason.  Well, I know exactly what the reason was.

It was going to be tough.  Getting back into shape always is.  I wasn’t going to be able to run as far or as fast as I really wanted to.

I might get a blister.  My feet aren’t as tough as they have been in the past.  That could set me back if I got one.

I knew there would be soreness.  The lactic acid would build up in my legs.  My feet would ache.  My lungs would scream for air.  My back might lock up.

All of these thoughts and more ran through my mind.  What else ran through my mind was an emailed post I received from John Maxwell.  It said something like this.

Motion causes friction.

My body was going to resist being put back into motion.  It would try anything to make me stop. It would get sore.  It would produce a blister.  It would get my mind to play along.  It would tell me to stop, that there is no point to it.  After all, I could be sitting at home writing a blog post.

If you begin anything, you will encounter resistance.  That’s just a fact of life.

Imagine the resistance that Noah met when he began building the ark.  Don’t you know that his friends thought he was nuts.  What about his family?

How about Abraham?  His name was Abram before he picked up his family to move.  They may have asked him where they were going.  What was his answer?  “I don’t know, but I’ll know when we get there.”

Did Moses meet resistance?  Well, there was a Pharaoh. There were also a few million other Israelites who were comfortable being slaves, who didn’t necessarily want to pick and move to the unknown.

Look at Jesus.  His chosen people were looking for the Messiah and they didn’t even see Him when he was among them.  They didn’t want their expected one to change anything.  They wanted Him to lead a revolution, but not the one He brought.  You could say that Christ met resistance.

What is God calling you to do?  What crazy thing is He whispering into your ear that others may not understand?

It’s scary, isn’t it?  Why?  Because you will encounter resistance.  Family and friends won’t understand.  Your life will change.  It won’t be comfortable.

Motion causes friction.  Friction causes pain.

That’s the way it is.  I’m sorry.  It won’t be easy.  I wish I could tell you differently.  I just can’t lie about it.

The thing is that once you get moving, it gets easier.  I don’t mean meeting the resistance.  What I mean is it gets easier to keep going.  You gain some momentum.  It gets to the point where you don’t want to stop.

Don’t fear the friction.  Embrace it.  Accept it as part of the process.

Have you noticed friction when you get to moving for Jesus?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. March 19, 2014 at 2:00 am

    I know many who have experienced frustration and confusion from the friction created when they start moving in the direction that they feel God leading them to go. I have come to understand that, in this world, there will always be resistance when actively following Christ. Each step fighting against the friction encourages the next, because with each step we find that God was faithful. Really enjoyed the read – good stuff.

  2. March 19, 2014 at 6:44 am

    Strangely enough the friction is most often NOT from an outside source. It most often comes from within me.

  3. March 19, 2014 at 10:15 am

    I felt this a bunch when I felt led to start a church. I felt like I was doing what God wanted me to do and it was met with all sorts of friction. It was also met with awesome! But there was friction.

  4. March 19, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    No pain no gain…fighting the urge to not walk today, resistance is coming from within. Friction only comes when there is a fight…a soft answer turns away the friction. Just some first thoughts as I read you post which is good by the way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

