Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > To Ricky, With Love: What I’ve Learned From Ricky Anderson

To Ricky, With Love: What I’ve Learned From Ricky Anderson

One of the awesome things about writing a blog is the people who you get to know through engaging with them in the comments.  I can’t begin to tell you about all of the folks, but I do want to mention one in particular.

Ricky Anderson is a guy who pops in and comments on the blog about once a month.  He is a husband, father, follower of Christ and owns one shed.   I love Ricky because when he comments, I know that it is something I need to pay attention to.

Not long ago, I wrote a post about dreams.  Ricky’s comment may have been the best of the bunch.  Why?  He said that he wasn’t sure what his dream was.  That is brave and courageous because few bloggers will actually say that they don’t know what their dream is.  We’re supposed to know by now.

The remainder of this post is a tribute to Ricky.  It is a list of things I have learned from Ricky over the last year or so by reading his blog, comments and tweets.

First, not everyone knows their dream.  Guess what?  That’s ok.  You may be perfectly content without having some dream that you have to pursue by getting up early every day before everyone else.  It’s cool.

We all have different talents.  One of Ricky’s is humor.  I can write a humorous post on occasion that will gain a chuckle or two.  Ricky can write a post that makes me laugh out loud and have me scratching my head at the same time.

Platforms and tribes bore some people.  We hear all the time in the blogging community about how we should build these things.  Many of us buy into these things.  Ricky has shown me that this isn’t for everyone.

Is that all I’ve learned from Ricky?  I doubt it.  However I do thing these are the most important.

If you don’t know Ricky, you should follow him on Twitter here.  He blogs on his own schedule, so pay attention for when he hits publish.

Do you know Ricky Anderson?

  1. Ricky Anderson
    March 21, 2014 at 6:59 am

    Thank you, Larry. I’m humbled that you would do this. Seriously.

    • March 21, 2014 at 7:03 am

      You’re awesome, Ricky. Maybe one day we can meet in person.

  2. March 21, 2014 at 7:30 am

    Oh Ricky, he’s so fine. He’s so fine, it blows people’s mind.

    Hey RIcky!

    • March 21, 2014 at 8:04 am

      I often pull out my 1982 Tony Basil cassette tape and sing Rickey to the all time greatest song ever!!!

    • Ricky Anderson
      March 21, 2014 at 8:06 am

      Hey, Bryan.

  3. March 21, 2014 at 9:12 am

    Ricky is one of the greats on the world wide web. He is always full of awesome. Well, except for that one time a year where we duel to the death for the Blogging All-Star Challenge. Then he is dead to me. But other than that he is full of awesome.

    • Ricky Anderson
      March 21, 2014 at 9:17 am

      That wig never gets old.

    • March 21, 2014 at 9:27 am

      The All Star Challenge is awesome every year.

  4. March 21, 2014 at 11:09 pm

    You know what else Ricky has taught me? To encourage people. Unabashedly, but genuinely. He does that. When Ricky speaks, I take notice (and not just for your mad singing skills, either, friend).

    • March 21, 2014 at 11:12 pm

      That’s an awesome one, Jan.

    • Ricky Anderson
      March 22, 2014 at 8:25 am

      Thanks, Jan.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

