Home > Blogging, Christianity, Church > God’s Not Dead: A Movie Review

God’s Not Dead: A Movie Review

I watch a lot of movies.  It’s one of my favorite leisure-time activities.  My interests range from action to comedy to epic and super-hero flicks.

What I normally don’t normally do is spend a lot of time watching Christian movies.  It isn’t because I disagree with their viewpoint or message, though sometimes I do.  It has to do with the fact that the production values are often poor and I don’t find many of them to be entertaining.  Simply watching a movie because it originates from a certain subculture that is geared toward me isn’t my thing.

I wouldn’t have gone to see God’s Not Dead if my church had not purchased out a few showings of it at our local theater.   I probably would have waited until it came out DVD before watching it.

First let me try to tell you a non-spoilerish summary of  the plot.  A young man goes to college where he enrolls in a  philosophy class.  The professor requires each student to sign their names to the statement God Is Dead.  The young man cannot do this due to the fact that he is a Christian.  The professor then requires him to prove the opposite, that God is not dead.  He gives him three chances to present his case to the class.  In the end, the class gets to decide who is right and who is wrong.

There are other sub-plots, such as an Islamic girl at the college who is secretly a Christian.  The professor’s girlfriend is a former student and Christian.  This girlfriend has a mother who is an Alzheimer patient.  Her brother is a successful businessman who is dating a reporter who ambushes Willie Robertson and the Newsboys for stories.

So, how did I, a follower of Christ who normally avoids movies like this, like it?

It was ok.  The acting was fine.  Kevin Sorbo, of Herculess fame, was the professor.  The young man going to college was on Good Luck, Charlie, from the Disney Channel.  Dean Cain from the old Lois and Clark TV show was in it as well. I didn’t really recognize anyone else.

It was predictable from the standpoint that I knew the student would win in the end.  One event in the end surprised me, but everything else followed my expectations.

The Gospel was presented well, as were the apologetic arguments for the existence of God.  This was the main point of the movie, so this was to be expected.

My favorite part of the movie actually had little to do with the main part of the story.  It involved a preacher and missionary who were trying to go to an amusement park, but kept being stalled before they could leave giving the movie some comedy.

Overall, I recommend God’s Not Dead.  Recently, due to my friend Matt Rawling’s blog, I have become interested in apologetics and this movie continued to stoke the fire.

If you have a chance, go see God’s Not Dead.  I would advise going to see it during a matinee.  I would not spring for a full movie price for it, but, then again, I don’t even do that normally for the movies I love.

Have you heard of God’s Not Dead?  Do you have plans to see it?

 

  1. March 23, 2014 at 6:47 am

    I have heard of it. I can’t really say I was going to go see it. Probably wait until it comes out on DVD. The only problem with that is movies with a message do need to play in major theaters. Unfortunately, Noah and Winter Soldier are coming out. 🙂

  2. Wildcard608
    March 24, 2014 at 10:14 am

    Wait is the same movie that has a professor to acquiesce to his lack-of-religious beliefs, and not get sued out of existence? The same where the Atheist prof is only an Atheist because of misfortune in his life, the same one where a girl who believes in evolution just suddenly turns to Jesus and starts believing in creationism because she got cancer?

    Yeah I think this is a skip. I know most movie/tv aren’t great at portraying non-believers, (The only really mainstream one I can think of are maybe House with the main three scrubs being Agnostic, and Bones with the main character) but this movie seems more interested in making outdated arguments others than it’s own argument.

    I’d really like a Christian movie that isn’t a scare film in the vein of “Rock Its Your Decision” “Mazes and Monsters” or “Deception of A Generation” but the only one I’ve found so far is “Prince of Egypt”.

    I am looking forward to the Marvel Movies though. I wonder if there allowed to do anything with the Spider-Woman or The Android Human Torch characters since they are part of SHIELD, but they might belong to someone else.

    • March 25, 2014 at 6:08 am

      I’m not sure who has the rights to Spider-Woman. I would imagine Marvel does. The Original Human Torch may be trickier.

      • Wildcard608
        March 25, 2014 at 8:55 am

        No I think Sony owns the film rights because of The Spider-man franchise and it might be a packaged deal with all the Spider-woman, but I don’t know who ever has the Android at this point. Apparently his body and the scientist was in the background of Captain America but I didn’t see it.when I went to the theater.

      • March 25, 2014 at 8:58 am

        I need to check that out. I’m looking forward to Winter Soldier next week.

  1. December 30, 2014 at 1:02 am

Leave a Reply

