Home > Christianity, Faith > What My Sin Is

What My Sin Is

I sinned yesterday.  I know that may cause some of you some consternation as you probably think I’m perfect.  I hate to burst your bubble.  I’m going to have to let you down, but I’ll be as easy as possible.  I am not as perfect as you think.

When I reflect on my sin, I wonder why I did it.  What was I thinking?  What caused me to be disobedient to the Lord?

As far as I can tell, there is really only one reason that I sin.  I mean, I could argue that I’m simply not perfect.  Perhaps I could say that I was just born that way.  I could say that I’m going to sin in some way everyday.  I could offer any number of excuses, but none of them would be valid.  There’s only one reason I sin.

Unbelief.

I don’t believe in God’s promises.  I don’t trust in what He has told me through His word.  I’m must more interested in taking the easy way out to satisfy myself and be happy.  I don’t truly believe that taking His path will be the better path.

We see examples of this in the Bible.  Ultimately, that’s what Adam and Eve did.  They were given the way to live a perfect life of happiness.  Work for the Lord.  Eat of every tree in the garden but the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil.  That’s all they had to do.  One thing.  We know how that turned out.

Look at the Israelites.  All they had to do was enter the Promised Land.  The Lord would go before them and drive out all of the other nations.  Instead they stubbed up.  They were afraid.  They didn’t believe Him.  Hebrews calls this disobedience unbelief.  So, they wandered in the wilderness for forty years until a new generation came up.

We fall into the same trap.

We don’t believe that we should feed the hungry, instead focusing on our own satisfaction.

We don’t believe that one person for the rest of our lives is enough, so we commit adultery.

We don’t believe that coming to Christ makes us into new creatures, so we do what all of the old creatures do.

We don’t believe that we should be transformed by the renewing of our mind, so we remain conformed to the pattern of this world.

We don’t believe that certain people won’t inherit the kingdom of God.

You name your sin, you look at the angle of your own unbelief.  It’s there.

How about we try this?  Let’s try trusting the Lord.  We say we want to.  We say we trust Christ to save us from the wages of sin, death and hell.  How about we trust Him in how He wants us to live as well.

I sinned yesterday.  So did you.  We didn’t believe the Lord.

Why do you think we sin?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. March 25, 2014 at 5:41 am

    I sinned because I thought I knew better than God what was best for me. I reckon that could be called unbelief in God’s sovereignty?

  2. March 25, 2014 at 11:31 am

    Because it was easy. Because it was fun. Because I let my guard down. Because I was stressed. Because I was too comfortable relying on myself. Because I’m a sinner. Thank God that in Jesus there is no condemnation!

  3. March 25, 2014 at 11:33 am

    Sin is always a matter of faith, I couldn’t agree more. I’m faced with countless decisions every day between what I know God has said and what the world is telling me. Every time I sin, I choose to believe the world.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

