Home > Christianity, Faith > Why Story Is Better

Why Story Is Better

I recently wrote a sermon.  I do that sometimes, whether I know that I’m going to preach or not.  It has come in handy in the past.

Several years ago, I was sitting in Sunday school class minding my own business.  Our pastor at that church was out-of-town.  A retired pastor who loved every opportunity to preach was scheduled to preach.  Alas, it was not to be.

Before he made his way to our church to preach, he had a heart attack.  I’m not sure who told us, though I’m guessing it was his wife.

About 10:15, the door opened to our Sunday school class.  One of the deacons looked around and motioned me to follow him.  We went down to the pastor’s study where the other deacons and another young preacher had already gathered.

The situation was explained to us.  Someone needed to preach.  I had told one of the deacons that I had been working on a sermon, so they asked me if I was ready.

I had no notes or anything, but I said that I would give it a try.  The other guy was asked if he could preach that night and we were off.  They left me alone to pray and gather my thoughts.  I jotted a few thoughts on a sticky note that I still carry in my Bible to this day.  It land s right there between Romans 13 and 14, though the stickiness of the post-it is about worn off.

I preached and it still, even after hundreds of sermons since, may be my best preaching ever.  I didn’t depend on myself or my ability at all.  I had to depend on the word and the Spirit.

I definitely didn’t have much time to get nervous.

*****

I write this not to brag about anything, there is nothing to boast in.

I don’t put down these words to show what I can do.  I didn’t really do much.  I was available and somewhat prepared.

I tell this story to simply say that story is better.  Telling you a story is better than trying to give a list of reasons about why we should be prepared and ready.

I tell you a story to give you glimpse, a snapshot of me, of where I’ve been and who I am.

I tell you a story to show what God can do when He shows up, to give Him the glory for that day.

I tell you a story because story is better.

Do you prefer story or just the facts?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. March 26, 2014 at 9:42 am

    No. I get bored with a lot of facts. I love story. That’s why I love movies so much.

  2. March 26, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    Story! Story! Story! Yep, I think God does His best work through folks who are simply willing and available.

  3. March 26, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    Jesus taught using stories. I prefer His method. I have had those times also Larry. I am always amazed what God pulls together.

  4. March 27, 2014 at 6:05 am

    I think our blogging trains of thought are intersecting. Yesterday, I wrote about story over on my blog. I like your take.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

