Home > Christianity, Faith > We Were Created For A King

We Were Created For A King

Camelot has always confused me.  No, not the Camelot of Arthurian legend, the one we might read about in books or see in movies.  No, not the Camelot where knights sat around a round table in equality.  Nothing like that.

No, I’m talking about the Camelot of the 60’s, just before I was born.  The one where Kennedy was elected president, along with his beautiful wife.  He was the first president of television really, going back to his debates with Nixon.

I understand the excitement over a president being elected and the hope he brings.  I have experienced it once in my lifetime, when I was twelve and Ronald Reagan was elected.  I was too young before and have never experienced what Reagan brought to the country since.

No, what I don’t understand is Camelot, because Camelot indicates a throne.  A throne and a king to sit upon it.  As I have sat back and thought about it, I have never been able to articulate it, at least not until  I read this post.  It all made sense at last.

We were created for a king.

*****

When the Revolutionary War was won, the people wanted to make George Washington king.  That’s all they knew.  Being wiser than most of us, Washington declined.  The country had just freed itself from the clutches of a tyrannical ruler.  Another king stepping in was not the answer.

Our founding fathers created a system of government that separated the powers out so that no one would hold absolute power in our country again.  Our constitution provides a balance of powers, a system of checks and balances to hold each branch accountable.  They created a system where the politicians worked for the people and reported to the people.

What do people think about this?

Once we had a Civil War, a disarming name because there was nothing civil about It.  As each generation lives and dies, our civility lives and dies with it.

A president is elected and people choose sides.  They act as if it is winner take all.  Their neighbor supported the loser?  Get over it.  My guy is in office.  He gets to make the rules now.  He’s our ruler, over all.  The losers and Congress and everyone else needs to get in line.  Supreme Court?  You need to do what he says.  He’s the president.

Why?

We were created for a king

*****

Two hundred plus years after revolting over the rule of a king and creating a country where democracy reigns, things have changed.

We get excited when the prince of the country we revolted from gets married.  We long for the royal couple to visit us.  We long to bow at their feet if they would just grace us with their presence.

We are excited when they find out they are with child.  A baby.  A royal baby.  One that will grow up to be king or queen someday.  They bring hope to us.  Maybe they will  make the world a better place.

Why?

We were created for a king.

*****

Our King will return one day.  He promised He would.  If it wasn’t so, He would have said so.  We long for that day to come.  He will make final defeat of his enemies.  He will defeat the last remnants of the enemies hold upon us.  He will rule us with the authority he deserves.

Why?

We were created for a King.

Have you ever wondered why we’re fascinated by royalty?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. March 27, 2014 at 1:26 am

    I’m the odd duck here, Larry – I agree that we were created for a King, to worship a King, and to serve a King – but I’ve never been fascinated by the royals of any nation except from a historical perspective. The current crop? Could care less – don’t get me wrong; he seems like a nice guy, she seems a nice girl, the kid looks cute – but they have never been my leadership figureheads, and they bring no hope to me. As curmudgeonly as that sounds, it is true for me – your mileage (and that of others) will and must vary – and I don’t see myself kneeling in homage to any Brit (of course, there *is* that nasty Irish streak in me that may have something to do with the attitude. 🙂 )

  2. March 27, 2014 at 4:37 am

    I’m not. I could care less really. They put their pants on the same way I do. They go to the bathroom the same way I do. I also think they spend way too much money for gaudy affairs I could care less about..all to give the impression they are something special. nope.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

