Home > Christianity, Faith > Capturing Thoughts

Capturing Thoughts

A couple of people asked me a while back how I have so many ideas to write about.  I’m not completely sure, but I think it has something to do with something I heard Zig Ziglar say several years ago.

In describing how to get water flowing from a pump, Zig said that you had to prime the pump.  A pump is primed by pouring just a little bit of water into the pump.  This helps create the pressure needed to get the water flowing.

It’s the same with writing.  Once I got the ideas flowing, they just continued to come.  Some days I might  have one idea.  Others I may have ten.  Rare is the day that I don’t jot an idea down.

One of the things I have learned is that I have to be ready.  I never know when the ideas will come.  They may come while I’m running.  Sometimes they come when I’m in the shower.  I am unable to turn it off or on, and I never know exactly when they’re coming.

What I have learned is that these thoughts don’t make it easy on me.  They don’t want me to track them down.  They creep in when they know that I am least prepared for them.  They make secret runs into my mind, as though they are on a mission to tease me with their existence.

They know me well.  They know my tendencies and movements.  These thoughts laugh at me as they rush away from me, knowing that I can’t catch them if they have a head start.

I have to be smarter than them.  I have to hide and camouflage myself.  I have to set traps  until I can capture them.

Sometimes I must have someone text me.  Other times, I have to find a scrap piece of paper.  It doesn’t really matter.

I just have to capture these thoughts.

*****

There’s one other thing that I have to do if I want to follow Christ.  It may be the hardest part.  I win simetimes, but fail as much or more so.

I have to capture every thought to the obedience of Christ.

*****

There was a stretch where I know for sure that I wasn’t doing this.  Subconsciously, I may have even done my best to make sure I failed.  I didn’t want to take every thought captive for Christ.

Instead, my thoughts were for my own glory.  They were designed to be clever.  I wanted to the world to know how smart I was and how cool I had become.

I was a failure in my writing and I was a failure in life.

I was not capturing every thought to the obedience of Christ.

How do you capture your thoughts for Christ?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

